Facebook PixelLittle Feminist Book Club Ages 4-7 September 2022 Review | MSA
My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.

Little Feminist Book Club Ages 4-7 September 2022 Review

Carlos Lamborn
ByCarlos LambornSep 29, 2022 | 0 comments

Little Feminist
0 overall rating
0 Ratings | 0 Reviews

Little Feminist Book Club is a monthly book subscription box for kids ages newborn to nine years old. Each month you will receive one to two books selected to help diversify your bookshelf for $22.95 per month + $2.95 flat rate shipping. Plus, you will also receive hands-on activities and tools to help your book come to life. Subscriptions are offered for ages 0-2, 2-4, 4-7, and 7-9. From Little Feminist:

Only 31% of children's books feature a female character, and only 13% feature a person of color.

ACTIVE DEAL: Limited Time Only! Get 40% off first Little Feminist book club box.
CODE: MSALOVES

This review is of the Book Club for ages 4-7 years.

This box was sent to us at no cost to review. (Check out our editorial guidelines to learn more about how we review boxes.)

First Impressions

 

Little Feminist Book Club items come in a distinctive cardboard holder with drawings on it. In addition to the book(s), Little Feminist includes an introduction to the book (which has an activity on the reverse side – see below) and a bookmark with thought-provoking questions.

What's Inside The Box

Where Three Oceans Meet by Rajani LaRocca - Retail Value $17.99

 

The story is about a girl who goes on a road trip with her mother and grandmother to the very southern tip of India. There is said that three oceans meet – the Indian Ocean, the Bay of Bengal, and the Arabian Sea. They travel by car, train, and boat and experience markets, temples, and time with friends and family. The girl recounts everything with little details that stuck out to her – like kids do. There are instances of three coming together to be something bigger, stronger. For example, a French braid. Of course, they end their story at the end of the world. There is a map of the trip in the back of the book.

My daughter liked this installment, but spent most of the story asking what all the new words were. Although I was a little lost on a few of them, it was nice to have her asking questions. She was also very concerned with how long this trip would take, because she's not a fan of long car rides.

If could make this about me for a minute, I've visited a few places consider to be the "end of the world." There is something very etherial about them. Something that amplifies your peace or your longing. I was trying to image being there with my parents or children and that made me feel very happy.

From Abrams Books:

A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.

“I want to see what’s at the end of the earth!”

Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India. Along the way, they share meals, visit markets, and catch up with old friends.For Pati, the trip retraces spaces she knows well. For Mommy, it’s a return to the place she grew up. For Sejal, it’s a discovery of new sights and sounds. The family finds their way to Kanyakumari, where three oceans meet, and delight in making it to the end of the earth together.This own voices picture book celebrates the beauty of India and the enduring love of family.

What Do You Think Card

 

Each book comes with a 'What Do You Think' card that provides questions that you can ask your little reader about the book. They are nice in the way they help you ask direct questions– something that might actually get a real answer rather than "It was good" or "I liked it."

Little Feminist In Action

This month's activity asks your little one to create a map. They suggest one of their room, favorite hike, or playground. My daughter opted for her room, since we were sitting in it. It was interesting seeing her sizing everything incorrectly and realizing it too late. It was a good exercise in spacial awareness.

Verdict

This installment from Little Feminist Book Club was a winner in my book. Although my girl was more concern with the length of the trip than the journey itself, she was engaged enough to ask questions and that is a win. If I had to guess, I don't see her asking for this one again, but she is (almost) always excited to read her new book when it first arrives ... and I'm done photographing it. I, too, am happy to read something new and different. I'll go out on a limb and say that some kids' books are pretty dumb. Even if they are not "winners" for us, we have yet to have a mindless installment of this subscription.

Value - Was This Box Worth It?

Subscribers – current or future – will have to be understanding of the fact that Little Feminist Book Club is not a subscription that saves you money. The cost of the sub will always be a little more than the book itself. This subscription's true value is the quality of the books and the complementary paperwork, which is carefully chosen and sent to your front door. If you are focused on dollar amounts, this subscription may not be for you. The monthly subscription costs $26 (with shipping). This book retails for $17.99. That is a $8 difference in value. The content is always good, but I would understand if some parents were dissuaded by the cost difference some months. Especially after several installments.

One thing to note: Little Feminist offers four ways to purchase: monthly, three months, six months, and 12 months. They cost $22.95, $21.95, $19.95, and $18.95, respectively. Shipping is always $2.95. So if you were certain you'd like this subscription for a year, it would be $4 cheaper per month and much closer to the book's retail value.

ACTIVE DEAL: Limited Time Only! Get 40% off first Little Feminist book club box.
CODE: MSALOVES

To Wrap Up

Can you still get this box if you sign up today? No. You have to order before the 25th to receive that month’s selection. So at this point, you will get next month's. From Little Feminist:

Once you purchase a book subscription your first box will be shipped within a week. From then on, your book box will be sent the first week of every month.

ACTIVE DEAL: Limited Time Only! Get 40% off first Little Feminist book club box.
CODE: MSALOVES

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist.

Do you subscribe to Little Feminist Book Club Box? Comment below with what you thought.

Starting at $22.95
Active Deal
Get 40% off first Little Feminist book club box.
Use Coupon Code MSALOVES
Subscribe Now
Little Feminist is a children’s book and activity subscription that focuses on diversity and gender equality, teaching 0-9 year old girls and boys (yes, boys can be feminists too!) empathy and perseverance. Books-of-the-month are selected by a team of educators, librarians, and parents, who then cre... read more.
Carlos Lamborn
Carlos Lamborn
Carlos is a husband and father of two. He likes coffee, beer, camping, disc golf, a good box cutter, and the accomplishment of even the most menial home-owning task. Carlos is new to the world of subscription boxes and loves the wonderment of receiving them in the new mailbox he just spent all day installing.

Join the Conversation

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *. Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.