MSA is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read the full disclosure.

Little Feminist Book Club Ages 3-7 Review + Coupon – September 2020

Little Feminist Book Club is a monthly book subscription box for kids ages newborn to nine years old. Each month you will receive one to two books selected to help diversify your bookshelf. Plus, you will also receive hands-on activities and tools to help your book come to life. Subscriptions are offered for ages 0-3, 3-7, and 7-9. From Little Feminist:

Only 31% of children’s books feature a female character, and only 13% feature a person of color.

This review is of the Book Club for ages 3-7 years.

This box was sent to us at no cost to review. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

About Little Feminist Book Club Box

The Subscription Box: Little Feminist Book Club

The Cost: $23.75 a month + free shipping. Save with longer subscriptions. 

COUPON: Use code SUBADDICTION to save $10 on any subscription!

The Products: At least one book (sometimes more) and hands-activities and tools to help your book come to life. 

Ships to: The U.S. for free and worldwide for varying rates.

Little Feminist Book Club Box September 2020 Review

I received this welcome card introducing this month’s books. They go over a few details about the book and how you can share your thoughts with them after reading the book with your little ones!

 

Rocket Says Look Up! by Nathan Bryon – Retail Value $17.99

The day before this book arrived, my son announced to us that he was going to be an astronaut. So it was perfect to receive this book when we did! We have read it to him every single night since then, he is obsessed with it and loves Rocket. Rocket is an aspiring astronaut who wants to share her love of the sky and stars with everyone around her. When Rocket learns that there will be a visible comet, she decides to announce it to people at the supermarket and hands out flyers. She wants everyone to look up and see it! She even wants her brother Jamal to come and see it since he is always looking down at his phone. Rocket and so many other people from her neighborhood show-up that night to the park to see the comet, but nothing happens for a while and it makes Rocket so sad. Then the comet comes and she is so excited! Her dreams are coming true and everyone is there to see it with her, all looking up at the sky! This book was wonderful for so many reasons, but it really shows little ones that they can believe and do whatever they want to be! A few weeks ago, my son said that a girl couldn’t be a boss, which took us down a lengthy discussion of why girls can be anything that boys can be, and then I gave him lots of examples of women in power. I know he is little, but it hurt my heart to hear him say these things, something that my husband and I never say, so it was almost learned from somewhere else or just something he thought on his own. That is where books like this and characters like Rocket come in and show him that anyone no matter your race or gender can be what they want, if they work hard for it. It also showed us a real-life person that went into space in Mae Jemison. So even though we never said anything like that to my son, he had those thoughts, which makes me realize that even when we think we are doing enough, we have to do more to show our kids that we are ALL equal. That is where this amazing subscription has come into play for us because month after month we can show him new characters and dreams that they have and how to accomplish them. No matter who you are or what you look like.

From Amazon:

A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her–even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket’s enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Cece Loves Science–Rocket Says Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket’s passion for science and infectious curiosity.

 

What Do You Think Card

Each book comes with a ‘What Do You Think’ card that gives you questions that you can ask your little reader about the book. Each side is broken out by age, which I find so helpful! This month’s cards ask questions like, “what do you love so much that you want to share it with everyone” and “when have you felt disappointed.” For the older kids, the card asks more detailed questions like, “what is your vision of who you want to be.” These are such a great tool to help keep your little reader engaged even after you have finished reading the book with them. It also allows you as the parent to sort of getting into your little one’s mind and discuss feelings and why something might be important or significant. We read together a lot, but rarely discuss the book in detail after. These cards give me that time to really sit and talk with my son after reading, and it really makes the whole experience that much more engaging for each of us!

 

Little Feminist Spotlight Coloring Page

This month’s spotlight is on Mae Jemison, an astronaut, and an engineer. Mae was the first black woman to go into outer space. While my son colored his page, I looked up more online about Mae and read to him about all of her accomplishments. We also get to learn a bit about her in this month’s featured book. He is very into learning about new people and thought she sounded so cool! He loves to color so this is a great way to get him focused and interacted with learning.

Verdict: Little Feminist Book Club sent the right book at the right time for my son Fox! He had just told us that he wanted to be an astronaut so it was perfect to receive this book to help him see another young person that has the same dream. Rocket is such an inspiration! She has such big dreams and a love for the sky that she wants to share with everyone around her. It is also a timely reminder for people to simply look up since we all are usually head down in our phones just like her brother Jamal. The coloring page was a fun way to learn more about Mae Jemison, and what do you think cards were a wonderful way to help my son think thoughtfully about this story. As I said earlier, I was shocked to hear my son say that girls can’t be bosses. It was a reminder that even when we think we are sending the right message, our kids will develop their own thoughts from outside sources. Little Feminist is giving me the tools right to my door each month to show my son characters that are different than him doing amazing things. To show him each month’s characters of a different race and gender so that he can see and learn that we are all equal, to treat everyone the same and that anyone can do anything. The value for me is right there in the lessons that I get to teach my son through this subscription each month. 

To Wrap Up: 

Can you still get this box if you sign up today? Yes, you should get their September box if you order before the last week of September. From Little Feminist:

Once you purchase a book subscription your first box will be shipped within a week. From then on, your book box will be sent the first week of every month.

COUPON: Use code SUBADDICTION to save $10 on any subscription!

Check out all of our Little Feminist reviews and our list of the best book clubs for kids!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

Do you subscribe to Little Feminist Book Club Box?

Little Feminist

How do subscribers rate Little Feminist?


Created with Sketch.

Never miss a post: get email alerts about Little Feminist!

Enable notifications () to get the latest Little Feminist spoilers, reviews, deals, and news delivered to your inbox.


Written by Taryn Lowman

Taryn Lowman

Taryn’s passion for subscription boxes started when she was gifted a monthly Birchbox. She is excited to discover more Mom and baby boxes to share with her family!

Posted in Book Subscription Boxes, Little Feminist Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Boxes for Kids| Tags: little feminist | 0 comments

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.