OwlCrate Subscription Box Review + Coupon – July 2018


This post may contain referral/affiliate links. If you buy something, MSA may earn a commission. Read the full disclosure.

OwlCrate is a YA book subscription box. Each month they send you a newly released YA book with some bookish goodies.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

The Subscription Box: OwlCrate

The Cost: $29.99 plus shipping ($6.99 to US, $10.59 to Canada, $19.99 Worldwide)

DEAL: Use coupon code WELCOME10 to save 10% off your first month!

The Products: A new YA book and 3-5 book-related goodies.

Ships to: Worldwide!

Check out all of my OwlCrate reviews and all of our Book Subscription Box reviews!

Each box comes with a card detailing the items included. This month’s theme is Strange & Unusual.

And Owl Crate includes a booklet, too:

 

Now, on to the items!

My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows – Retail Value $17.99

This is an Owl Crate exclusive cover variant!

Book Summary from Amazon:

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Bronte, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

I really enjoyed My Lady Jane, and I went into this book with high expectations, but I just didn’t love this book as much as I loved the first in the series. (All books are standalone – no need to read My Lady Jane first.) This book didn’t feel as exciting as My Lady Jane, and it took me a while to finish. I feel like I may be being extra harsh on this book because I loved the first one so much, though.

And this book is signed!

And there is also a letter from the authors:

And a promotional diorama:

And if you decorate your diorama and share it on Instagram, you could win a free OwlCrate box!

Here are the other bookish goodies in the box:

Stranger Things Pocket POP! Keychain in Dustin – Value $6.32

(Subscribers will either receive Dustin or Eleven.)

Good to know about these POP keychains – the chain unscrews if you’d like to display these baby POPS instead! They stand on their own!

Reverie and Ink Wallet – Estimated Value $20?

This is an exclusive design for OwlCrate subscribers! (The quote is from The Raven King.)

It has a detachable wristlet strap.

And plenty of storage inside:

Card slots, zippered pocket, and an elastic band:

Stay Peculiar Pennant Flag – Estimated Value $4?

Another exclusive OwlCrate design! This one is from Risa Rodil and is a nod to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Mystifying Mints – Value $3.50

A very appropriate treat for a spooky themed box! How cute are these mints:

And here is another item that is great for Halloween:

OwlCrate Skull Push Pins – Estimated Value $6?

These have a bit of an 8-bit vibe to them:

Lastly, we have two exclusive art items:

Luna Lovegood Sticker – Estimated Value $1?

(I’m always happy to see Harry Potter items in this box… or any subscription box!) This is designed by artist TJ Lubrano.

Whale Art Print

This was created by Aun-Juli Riddle. I love the dreamy watercolors and vibe of this print – perfect for a little reading nook!

And lastly, each OwlCrate box comes with an exclusive pin to match the theme!

Verdict: I absolutely love OwlCrate! I think they are getting better and better every year, and the amount of exclusive items and designs they include in each box makes this entire unboxing and reading experience feel so special. I think this would be a great box to gift or to gift to yourself! Even though the book wasn’t a slam dunk for me, it was on my reading list, so I’m glad that I got it in the box instead of purchasing it!

What do you think of the July OwlCrate box? Did you like the book?

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. If you buy something, MSA may earn an affiliate commission. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

Posted in Australian Subscription Box Reviews, Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, OwlCrate Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, UK Subscription Box Reviews, YA Book Subscription Boxes| Tags: owlcrate | 5 comments

5 Comments

  1. “My Plain Jane” was on my buy list as well (in fact I almost purchased it the day before I received this box but I held off be a use I was going away and hoped I would get it from Owl Crate or Uppercase Box (side side bar – I was gong to purchase “Spinning Silver” as well but got that in the Uppercase box)).

    I was worried that it wouldn’t live up to “My Lady Jane” because I loved it so much and was disappointed when I realized the next Jane book wouldn’t be a sequel but a stand alone book. Luckily, I wasn’t disappointed. I flew through this book.

    I would say that what the books have in common is the writing from three different perspectives and the hilarious writing style of the previous Jane books – and of course lots of misunderstandings between the three main characters. What is different is while “My Lady Jane” feels more like a fantasy novel that “My Plain Jane” feels more like a Austen or Bronte novel but with paranormal tones. So, depending on how you like those types of stories one may scratch your reading itch better than the other.

    So, if it isn’t obvious I loved this month.

  2. Omgggggg, those mints will be mine!

    • They sell those by the register at cracker barrel right now (if you have one).

      • YES! Thank you!

  3. Thanks for the tip about the keychain! I find it a little big for its intended use, but I’m happy to have Dustin chilling on my desk.

    This was my first Owlbox, and I was impressed! The pushpins were my favorite thing; that packaging is inspired. I’m curious to see how the wallet holds up to everyday use.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!