Posted by on in Australian Subscription Box Reviews, Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, OwlCrate JR Reviews, OwlCrate Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Boxes for Kids, UK Subscription Box Reviews | Tags: | 0 comments

OwlCrate Jr. Book Box Review – January 2018

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. If you buy something, MSA may earn a commission. Read the full disclosure.

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice Box closed

OwlCrate Jr is a monthly book subscription box for kids aged 8-12. They send books as well as interesting and educational book related items.

My Subscription Addiction paid for this box. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice review

About OwlCrate Jr.

The Subscription Box: OwlCrate Jr.

The Cost: $27.99 a month, $80.97/3-month pre-pay, $155.94/6-month pre-pay. Plus $6.99 USPS flat-rate shipping, $10.59 shipping to Canada, and $19.99 shipping International.

The Products: You will receive (1) hardcover middle grade book plus assorted gender neutral book-related items.

Ships to: U.S., Canada, and International

OwlCrate Jr. January 2018 Review

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice Booklet front

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice Booklet back

An info card was included listing each item in the box as well as the theme for January: Sugar & Spice.

Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano

Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano – Retail Value $16.99 (found here for $11.43)

I was so excited to see a book featuring a female protagonist this month. This book features Leo, the youngest daughter in a family of brujas (not witches, but kind of like witches). I learned a lot about Dia de Los Muertos and this book had such sweet, funny parts that I really fell in love with it. I know my 4th and 5th grade students are going to love this one.

From Amazon:

Leonora Logroño’s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual Dia de los Muertos festival.

Leo hopes that this might be the year that she gets to help prepare for the big celebration—but, once again, she is told she’s too young. Sneaking out of school and down to the bakery, she discovers that her mother, aunt, and four older sisters have in fact been keeping a big secret: they’re brujas—witches of Mexican ancestry—who pour a little bit of sweet magic into everything that they bake.  

Leo knows that she has magical ability as well and is more determined than ever to join the family business—even if she can’t let her mama and hermanas know about it yet.

And when her best friend, Caroline, has a problem that needs solving, Leo has the perfect opportunity to try out her craft. It’s just one little spell, after all…what could possibly go wrong?

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice Letter

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice Letter back

Included with the book this month was a letter from Anna Meriano and a signed bookplate to stick inside your book. A recipe was also included.

Sweet Spirits Day of the Dead Cookie Cutter

Sweet Spirits Day of the Dead Cookie Cutter – Buy a 4-pack for $10.00

This Day of the Dead Sugar Skull cookie cutter is awesome! It is perfect for stamping basic sugar cookies, which can then be decorated with royal icing to add as many details as you like.

Owl Crate Jr. Exclusive Apron

This blue apron is an OwlCrate Jr. exclusive and is child-sized. It is made of a thin material that feels like a poly-blend. It will be perfect for when my son or daughter wants to help me in the kitchen.

Rolling Pin

Rolling Pin

A rolling pin makes a helpful addition to a baking themed box. This one is brightly colored and child-sized, perfect for little hands helping make cookies or crusts in the kitchen.

Sweetest Thing Bakeshop Sprinkles

Sweetest Thing Bakeshop Sprinkles

Sweetest Thing Bakeshop Sprinkles

Sweetest Thing Bakeshop Sprinkles – Retail Value $5.50

Aren’t these just the most beautiful sprinkles you’ve ever seen? Sweetest Thing Bakeshop makes many different sprinkle variations with every color scheme imaginable, even custom ones for your particular need. The sprinkles will look beautiful on our next batch of cupcakes or Rice Krispie treats.

Ooly Macaron Erasers

Ooly Macaron Erasers open

Ooly Macaron Erasers – Retail Value $3.99

I’ve received other Ooly erasers in subscription boxes and I adore them. They’re so cute, smell like vanilla and have amazing colors. They are way too pretty to use so I display them on my desk instead.

Cupcake Button

Cupcake Button – Estimated Value $0.50

Since the premise of this book is baking and sweets the cupcake button was a perfect fit.

Ooly Food Stickers

Ooly Food Stickers – Retail Value $1.99

We always love receiving stickers in our subscription boxes. Especially when they’re as cute as these brightly colored foods with smiling faces. My favorite is the bow-tie wearing carrot.

SPOILER ALERT:

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice Spoiler

OwlCrate Jr January 2018 Sugar and Spice Spoiler

The February OwlCrate Jr. theme will be Wild Magic. The selection features fantasy, courage, mystery, and friendship. Fans of The Wildwood Chronicles and Stranger Things should love this pick!

Verdict: OwlCrate Jr.’s January box was a huge hit for us! The value this month is difficult to pinpoint since many of the items are OwlCrate Jr. exclusives. However the box costs $27.99 a month plus $6.99 shipping and for that price, we were very happy with the items we received, the creative curation and the quality. And most importantly we loved the book selection this month! We highly recommend OwlCrate Jr for middle-grade readers who love fantasy literature.

To Wrap Up:

Can you still get this box if you sign up today? No, unfortunately, this box is sold out. Check back here for when the next box becomes available.

Value Breakdown: This box cost me $27.99 + $6.99, which means that each of the 8 items in the box has an average cost of $4.37.

Check out all of our Owl Crate Reviews and the Book Subscription Box Directory!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

What did you think of OwlCrate Jr.?

Written by Jessica Telesmanich

Jessica Telesmanich

Jessica’s addiction started off slowly enough with Birchbox, but it has grown and grown over the last three years. An elementary school librarian and mom of two she loves boxes that are child-centric. But she’ll never turn down a good fashion, beauty or tasty treat subscription.

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. If you buy something, MSA may earn an affiliate commission. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!