Facebook PixelYear in Review: Wantable Style Edit | My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.

Year in Review: Wantable Style Edit

Marisa Haber
ByMarisa HaberDec 20, 2021 | 0 comments
Year in Review: Wantable Style Edit

Prior to this year, I had never tried a fashion subscription box, so I had no idea what to expect with Wantable. I've always struggled to define my style but taking Wantable's styling quiz really got me thinking about my preferences. Since my first box, I have looked forward to getting that monthly e-mail notification that my Wantable Edits have shipped because the items have been on point. Every box I've gotten in 2021 has had at least 1-2 items that have become staples in my closet: from my cozy blue robe and purple slippers from two different Sleep & Body Edits to some of my favorite sweaters and jeans from the Style Edits, I'm always impressed with what my stylists pick out for me. While not everything is a home run, I have found brands that I never would have heard of without subscribing to Wantable, and they've become brands I seek out for more pieces! Let's dive into my Wantable year in review and go over some of the highlights of this box and some of the areas I think they can improve on for 2022:

Gallery: Highlights of Our Past Edits

About Wantable

Wantable is a monthly personalized subscription box service that sends you seven expertly curated items based on an in-depth quiz.

In order to get your one-of-a-kind style box, you must first take an online quiz to narrow down your style preferences. Choose between four Wantable’s Edits: Women’s Style, Women’s Active, Women's Sleep & Body, and Men’s Active before beginning the questionnaire. The quiz asks a range of questions: what type of clothing do you wear, preferences on fabrics, patterns, colors, fit–everything you could think of to help define your personal style.

Once the quiz is complete, a stylist is assigned to your account and begins curating your Edit. Creating your Edit comes with a $20 styling fee, but that fee goes towards any items you decide to keep once you receive your box. You save 20% off everything if you keep five or more items. When you receive your box you’ll have five days to decide what you want to keep for purchase and what you want to return. They also offer free returns and pick-ups.

ACTIVE DEAL: Limited Time Only! $35 off your first edit. No coupon needed - just use this link.

Ships to: The US

What Wantable Got Right in 2021

Trends

Every box I received was on-trend and had items that were fresh and current. I received a lot of straight-leg and mom jeans, which are still all the rage; one of my stylists sent me tiered and ruffled dresses since the Victorian era is having a moment; I got a few amazing animal print pieces in the summer when bold prints were way on-trend. I like knowing that whatever I receive will be on the pulse of fashion but still fit my personal tastes based on the quiz I took.

Variety

Before you even receive your first Edit, there's a variety of boxes to choose from: style, active, or sleep & body. There's a box for every need, so choose your favorite or pick more than one and receive a gift to yourself every month of surprise fashion items. I got to try items from the Style and Sleep & Body Edits, and I felt that every box was different and all of the items were completely different styles from the items in the months prior. I had a different stylist for almost every box, which I think adds to the variety and change in trends from box to box.

Seasonality

Every month I received an Edit from Wantable, I felt that the items reflected the season and also prepared me for the months to come. The Edits come toward the end of the month so the items are really geared toward the next month -- which meant I started getting both fall and winter pieces ahead of the season. This gives you the chance to purchase new items around the Edit you received and also gives you a look into what the stylists are predicting will be big hits in the coming months.

What I Would Like to See in 2022

For 2022, I would love to see an item in each Edit that falls on the affordable side. While I feel that their denim is a steal, some of the other items are on the pricier side and make it difficult to decide whether or not they're worth the keep. If there was an item every month that was trendy and a bargain, it would introduce subscribers to brands that might be in their price range and make it easier to keep five items to get that additional 20% off.

Our Favorite Brands and Products from Wantable in 2021

Sweater in Olive by Staccato - Retail Price $59.00

From my November 2021 Style Edit:

I requested a lot of items as I scrolled through the style options, but I was really hoping I’d see this one in my style box. I love the olive color of this sweater and the style is one I do not already own. A top like this usually threatens to fall down your shoulders throughout the day, but the strap in the back secures the sleeves and I never once had to readjust. This is definitely my favorite from this month’s Edit.

Pullover in Beige/Taupe by Hem & Thread - Retail Price $68.00

 

From my November 2021 Style Edit:

If you’ve read my other Wantable reviews, you know I’m a sucker for anything soft and fuzzy. Warm layers I can wear around. the house and outside are a personal fave of mine, and this pullover is no exception. I love the neutral colors and the color-blocking plaid section, it’s a cute option to throw on when I need to run errands and I know I’ll be living in it all of fall.

Free Throw Crop Bra in Army by Free People Movement - Retail Price $30.00

From my November 2021 Sleep & Body Edit:

This is a total YES for me! I love crop tops that can be worn under v-neck sweaters or worn as a low-impact sports bra. These tops are so versatile and comfortable. I love seeing Free People come in my box because it’s a high-end brand I love and if I keep five items I can get it at a discount. This top is definitely staying with me and will get a lot of wear throughout the year.

SD Walk and Talk High Waisted Capri in Darkest Night by Beyond Yoga - Retail Price $88.00

From my November Sleep & Body Edit:

 When I say I am in love with these leggings by Beyond Yoga, I mean it. These leggings are the softest leggings I’ve ever tried and they flatter my body in all the right ways. I love the subtle print and the high-waisted fit. This is definitely my favorite addition to my October edit and I wore it to the gym the first day I got them. They did not disappoint, they remained opaque as I did y squats and they moved with my body while I used the Stairmaster. I am so glad Wantable introduced me to this brand because I will definitely be making more purchases from Beyond Yoga.

Cashmere Mock Neck Sweater in Oatmeal by Fate - Retail Value $88.00

From my October 2021 Style Edit:

Another cozy staple I’ll be adding to my cold-weather clothing lineup. I love cashmere sweaters for the wintertime and this oatmeal color is the perfect neutral. The mock neck is a cut I don’t already have in my closet, which gives me another reason to keep it and play around with styling this sweater. I already love how it pairs with the jeans, kudos again to my stylist for making this perfect match.

Animal Print Midi Skirt in Cream by Wishlist - Retail Value $54.00

From my October 2021 Style Edit:

How cute is this animal printed skirt?? I love these midi-length skirts to pair with a t-shirt and blazer or a sweater for the chillier fall days and the pattern on this one is perfect for making a subtle statement. The $54 price tag may feel a bit pricey for a skirt, but the material is quality and I loved that it’s lined so I don’t have to worry about remembering to wear nude underwear. The slit length is also great, it’s enough to show some leg but not too long that a gust of wind threatens to blow the skirt too high. I’m definitely keeping this skirt since it will be great for the rest of fall and ready to come back out in the spring.

Velvet Burnout Kimono Robe in Black/Raspberry by MeMoi - Retail Price $68.00

From my October 2021 Sleep & Body Edit:

How beautiful is this kimono? The minute I put this on I felt so comfy and beautiful. I love the sheer elements and the bright purple lining. From the delicate pattern to the silk and velvet textures, this is a luxurious robe that I will be getting plenty of use out of. Whether you’re wearing this as you get ready for your day or pairing it with a sexy black lingerie number underneath, it’s the perfect kimono for everyday use.

Prym Slippers in Elderberry by Muk Luks - Retail Price $40.00

From my October 2021 Sleep & Body Edit:

Slippers are one of my weaknesses. I love anything that keeps me warm and cozy. You will not see me walking around my apartment without a pair of slippers on. What’s even better? These slippers match perfectly with the kimono I was sent. I love that my stylist, Alexandra, made sure to color coordinate some of the items to make it easier for me to visualize in my closet as my everyday go-to’s.

Who Do I Recommend Wantable For?

Wantable is a great monthly fashion subscription box for anyone looking to go out of their fashion comfort zone and try something new. The quiz you take to help your stylist shop for you gives them a sense of your taste but also gives them the freedom to choose items you might not choose yourself, but end up becoming staples. This styling service truly is for anyone: they offer a Style Edit, Sleep & Body Edit, Active Edit, and a Men's Active Edit. The brands that Wantable works with are all high quality and on-trend, so you don't have to worry about receiving pieces that will break down quickly or aren't with the current trends.

What were your fave Wantable products this year? Let me know in the comments!

Starting at $20.00
Active Deal
$35 off your first edit
Subscribe Now

Wantable is a personal styling service that sends high-quality clothing and accessories based on a user's style profile after taking a style quiz. There is a $20 styling fee which is applied to any purchase made from your “Edit” and if you keep 5 or more items, you receive a 20% discount as well.... read more.

Marisa Haber
Marisa Haber
Marisa Haber is a freelance writer with a passion for all things fashion, beauty, lifestyle, and food! When she's not scrolling through Instagram to get the scoop on all the latest trends, she can be found walking around the city asking people if she can pet their dogs.

Join the Conversation

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *. Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.