My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
No results matched your query
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.

Basic Man Review – What To Expect with Your Monthly Subscription

Eric Cadman
ByEric CadmanApr 2, 2019 | 0 comments

Basic Man Review – What To Expect with Your Monthly Subscription

Basic Man Review

What To Expect with Your Monthly Subscription

Basic Man aims to send men basic essentials on a monthly basis – it’s the highest rated basics subscription from our Men’s Clothing & Style Subscription Boxes rated by our readers in 2019! It’s a low-cost and low-effort way to keep your essentials fresh and new – along with building up a nice little assortment of daily wear. You can expect a new pair of socks, underwear, and a shirt each month.

by Eric Cadman, MSA Reviewer, Casual Coder
September 2, 2020| Leave a comment

About Basic Man

The Subscription Box: Basic Man

The Cost: $19.99 (shipping included)

COUPON: Use coupon code MSA50 to get 50% off of your first month!

The Products: New basic everyday essentials for men.

Ships: International

Pros & Cons

The Pros
  • The $19.99 cost is great for items that you’ll wear often
  • You’ll get new colors with each shipment – it helps me experiment with a t-shirt cut or color that I’m not familiar wearing.
  • The quality is very high for all 3 pieces of clothing in the shipment
The Cons
  • You can’t pick the cut of your t-shirt. This can sometimes lead toward getting a cut that you don’t prefer (i.e. v-neck vs. a crew cut)
  • You also can’t pick the sock type – it’ll vary from month to month, but it’s typical to receive calf-high socks
Is It Worth It?
  • I tend to wear each piece at least twice a week – that breaks down to around $3.33 per use of each item in any given month.
I’d Recommend Basic Man If You
  • You don’t want to think about turning over your essentials, you’d rather have it on auto-renewal
  • You need to build out your daily essentials
  • You’re buying for someone who is away from home (i.e. a college student)

I’ve been a basic man subscriber for 14 months now, see all of my shipments here!

The Basics

I went ahead and pulled both the February and March 2019 shipments to give you a good sense of month-to-month shipments and differences.

February Shipment

You’ll have no control over the color or style of your basics – but they do tend to fall into a color palette each month. Each month comes with socks, underwear, and a new t-shirt.

Basic Man T-Shirt

I like to relate these to a basic shirt from American Eagle, a brand that I tend to purchase. The first is pretty true-to-size, but can sometimes run on the smaller side. They pre-wash these, too, to avoid shrinking in the wash as much as possible.

Highlights:

  • The shirts are a 60/40 Cotton/Polyester blend
  • Great for an undershirt or an outer shirt
  • They’re pre-washed, so there isn’t too much shrinking on these
  • They’re soft with no unnecessary frills

Basic Man Underwear

The low-down on their underwear is that they’re comfortable to wear in both hot and cold weather – they’re easily some of my favorite underwear that I own.

Highlights:

  • The underwear is 95/5 Modal/Elastane
  • They’re tagless! I think this is the most important thing for me.
  • They’re silky smooth, but not so smooth that they ride-up all day
  • They’re made with Modal – it’s 50% more absorbent than your typical cotton underwear + they’re breathable and odor resistant

Basic Man Socks

My absolute favorite part of each shipment are the socks. I’ve reviewed tons of sock subscription boxes which leaves me with the knowledge that a typical pair of high-quality socks tend to run around $12 per pair – so you’re essentially getting the shirt and underwear for only $8 if you’re in it for the socks like I am!

Highlights:

  • The socks are 80/17/3 Combed Cotton/Polyester/Elastic
  • These can be no-show socks of mid-calf socks  – the latter has been much more frequent
  • These have done the best job of staying up on my calf more than most – these are the socks I look for in my drawer every day because of that
  • They’re breathable – but have still been very warm in super cold weather

I also went ahead and grabbed the March shipment to show a bit of the month-to-month style cycles.

March Shipment

As you can see – while the colors change up, the basic tend to be the small most month. March had a bit of a surprise for me with a pair of no-show socks!

No-show socks are my go-to style for warmer weather – I wish more subscription boxes sent these out. They have all the same quality attributes and material of the calf-high socks – but also vitally include the little silicon ankle strip to help keep these on your foot.

The Verdict

It’s hard not to leave a glowing review each month for Basic Man – it’s the clothing subscription that I look forward to most! Here’s why:

  • It has a high-value: socks run around $12 per pair, so you’ll be grabbing the shirt and underwear for only $8 – and those are the 2 more expensive items. I tend to wear each piece at least twice a week – that breaks down to around $3.33 per use of each item in any given month.
  • It’s been valuable to my everyday life: I’m wearing the March shirt as an undershirt today – and that’s pretty normal in my everyday life now. Not to mention that the socks have been my go-to brand for months on end
  • It allows me to cycle my basics: I feel like I’m a pretty typical guy. I have old socks where the band on it is so flimsy that they can’t even stay up on my leg anymore. Well, this gives me the reminder to donate or ditch those with the reassurance that I have some new items every month.

If you need even more detail on Basic Man – be sure to check out every month’s review from the past year or so on our Basic Man reviews page.

Ready to start? Use coupon code MSA50 to get 50% off of your first month!

Did I miss any tips or tricks for new Basic Man subscribers? Be sure to help them out in the comment section below!

"Each month, Basic MAN will send you a t-shirt, boxer-briefs and socks to ensure you always have fresh, quality basics to build your wardrobe around. Tees come printed with "destroy by" dates, to help ensure you're rotating out your oldest pieces. They currently offer sizes XS - XXL."
Eric Cadman
Eric Cadman
Eric is the co-founder of My Subscription Addiction. He's been hooked on geek subscription boxes since 2012 thanks to Loot Crate and Nerd Block. Geek boxes sparked his desire for collecting Funko Pops and comic book statues!

Eric Cadman
Eric Cadman
Eric is the co-founder of My Subscription Addiction. He's been hooked on geek subscription boxes since 2012 thanks to Loot Crate and Nerd Block. Geek boxes sparked his desire for collecting Funko Pops and comic book statues!
Join the Conversation

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *. Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.

You Might Also Like

Birchbox October 2021 Review + 50% Off Coupon
Birchbox October 2021 Review + 50% Off Coupon
October 20, 2021
Margot Elena Winter 2021 Box Spoiler #1
Margot Elena Winter 2021 Box Spoiler #1
October 19, 2021
Sugarfina 2021 8 Nights of Delight Hanukkah Calendar: Now Available
Sugarfina 2021 8 Nights of Delight Hanukkah Calendar: Now Available
October 26, 2021
FabFitFun Winter 2021 Box Spoilers: ‘Tis the Season Part 1
FabFitFun Winter 2021 Box Spoilers: ‘Tis the Season Part 1
October 19, 2021
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.