My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
No results matched your query
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.

OwlCrate Jr. Book Subscription Box Review + Coupon – March 2017

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Box

OwlCrate
4.4 overall rating
36 Ratings | 7 Reviews

OwlCrate Jr is a monthly book subscription box for kids aged 8-12. They send books as well as interesting and educational book related items.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Box-Inside

My Subscription Addiction paid for this box. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Review

The Subscription Box: OwlCrate Jr

The Cost: $27.99 a month, $80.97/3-month pre-pay, $155.94/6-month pre-pay. Plus $6.99 USPS flat-rate shipping, $10.59 shipping to Canada, and $19.99 shipping International.

COUPON: Use code OWLCRATEMSA10 to save 10% off your order!

The Products:  You will receive (1) hardcover middle grade book plus assorted gender neutral book-related items.

Ships to: U.S., Canada, and International

Check out all of our Owl Crate Reviews and the Book Subscription Box Directory!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Booklet

An info card was included listing each item in the box as well as the theme for March: Unlikely Friends.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Book

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Title-Page

Hello, Universe by Ellen Entrada Kelly – Value $9.38 on Amazon (retail price $16.99)

From Amazon:

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero), and it’s perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Thanhha Lai, and Rita Williams-Garcia.

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Autograph

A Hello, Universe bookmark and an autographed bookplate were included which can be stuck inside the book.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Letter

Author, Erin Entrada Kelly, included a darling letter about some characters we’ll encounter in her book and just enough teasers to make me excited to crack this title open.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Puzzle

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Puzzle2

Pixie Mayhem Harry Potter Jigsaw Puzzle – Value $9.95

This jigsaw puzzle contains 100 pieces and was one of 6 possible designs you’ll receive.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Jump-Rope

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Jump-Rope2

Schylling Retro Jump Rope – Value $4.71

I wasn’t sure at first about the significance of the jump rope in the box, but when I opened the book and saw the title page illustration I see that a jump rope will be an important prop in the story. I like the bright neon colors of the rope and the kids are excited for the warm weather to hurry up and arrive so that we can get outside and use it.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Stickers

Unlikely Animal Friend Stickers – Value $2.00?

These unlikely friend stickers by Crafted Van are exclusives for OwlCrate Jr. I love the fable themes with Tortoise and Hare and Lion and Mouse.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Button

Unlikely Friends Button – Value $1.00?

This unlikey friends theme button features the same dragon and unicorn from the theme card.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Bookmark

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Bookmark2

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Bookmark3

BeeDooTO Toothless Bookmark – Value $3.50

This Toothless magnetic bookmark slips over a page and holds fast with a small magnet on either side. He’s just the right amount of monster and cute mix.

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Theme-Spoiler

OwlCrate-Jr-March-2017-Theme-Spoiler2

The April OwlCrate Jr. theme will be: Written in the Stars. This box is geared for dreamers, astronomers, and adventurers. I’m excited to see what book they pick!

Verdict: What a great box geared for middle-grade readers. I’m constantly on the hunt for excellent new middle-grade books to promote to my 3rd-5th grade students and this box will keep me filled with new releases to read and share. I thought the curation was so much fun and I’m eager for upcoming months’ themes. The value this month was around $30 which I’m happy with. OwlCrate Jr is a joy to unbox for sure!

What did you think of OwlCrate Jr?

OwlCrate is a monthly subscription box for people who love Young Adult literature. Every month they send you a highly anticipated new YA release, as well as 3-5 bookish items (such as fandom jewelry, collectible toys, bookmarks, and more!). Each box will also include exclusive content from authors a... read more.
Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica's addiction started off slowly enough with Birchbox, but it has grown and grown over the last three years. An elementary school librarian and mom of two she loves boxes that are child-centric. But she'll never turn down a good fashion, beauty or tasty treat subscription.

Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica's addiction started off slowly enough with Birchbox, but it has grown and grown over the last three years. An elementary school librarian and mom of two she loves boxes that are child-centric. But she'll never turn down a good fashion, beauty or tasty treat subscription.
Join the Conversation

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *. Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.

3 comments

Tanya

My kids liked the box, but none of of us were thrilled. We tried the LitJoy junior box. It was a hit. I’ll keep an eye on future boxes of both, though.

Angela

My 5th grade bookworm daughter was delighted with the box! She thought the book was really good and was impressed to get a letter from the author. She especially loved the cute “unlikely friends ” stickers and pin. The magnetic bookmark was also a hit. And of course, with 3 kids, we can always use another puzzle and jump rope!

Jessica

I’m so glad to hear your daughter loved it!

You Might Also Like

We Relaunched, We Listened, We’re Making Changes: A Note to MSA Readers About Our Latest Site Improvements
We Relaunched, We Listened, We’re Making Changes: A Note to MSA Readers About Our Latest Site Improvements
July 21, 2021
Allure Beauty Box August 2021 – Spoiler #1
Allure Beauty Box August 2021 – Spoiler #1
July 19, 2021
BeautyFix – Addressing CX Issues
BeautyFix – Addressing CX Issues
July 16, 2021
Ipsy Glam Bag August 2021 – Choice Time
Ipsy Glam Bag August 2021 – Choice Time
July 26, 2021
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.