My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
No results matched your query
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.

Book of the Month Subscription Review + Coupon – April 2018

Liz Cadman
ByLiz CadmanMay 16, 2018 | 1 comment

Book of the Month
4.1 overall rating
36 Ratings | 12 Reviews

Book of the Month is a monthly book subscription box. Each month, 5 curators pick out their favorite new hardcover books, and you can choose which one you want to receive on the first of the month. You can also add up to 2 additional books for only $9.99 each.

We were sent this box for review purposes. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

Check out all of our reviews of Book Subscription Boxes for more options, too!

The Subscription Box: Book of the Month

The Cost: $14.99 a month (less with 3 and 12 month subscriptions)

LIMITED TIME DEAL Use this link and coupon code YESPLZ to sign up for Book of the Month and get your first month for free!

The Product: Subscribers get to pick from a selection of hardcover books each month. Skip any month you aren’t interested in. Add up to two additional books for $9.99.

Ships to: US Only

Check out all of our Book of the Month reviews!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wish list!

This month, subscribers picked from the following 5 books:

I’m reviewing The Oracle Year.

The Oracle Year by Charles Soule – Retail Value $21.99 (On Amazon for $13.19.)

Book Summary from Amazon:

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.

Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

He’s also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site—as it’s come to be called—and the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust—including a beautiful journalist—it’s all Will can do to simply survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule’s audacious debut novel takes readers on a rollicking ride where it’s impossible to predict what will happen next.

I’m about halfway through this book and I’m enjoying it. The pacing is good, and the multiple POVs works for me. The thing I found most interesting about this person-who-sees-the-future concept, is how the rest of the world reacts. It’s just fascinating to think about, and I’m impressed with how the author digs into it.

And each book comes with a bookmark, too!

Verdict:  The value of the Book of the Month subscription is great. The variety of new books offered is awesome and the prices are still better than Amazon for new hardcover releases. If one book a month won’t cut it, you can also add-ons books from previous months for $9.99. I like that you also have the option to skip a month.

To Wrap Up:

Coupon – Use this link and coupon code YESPLZ to sign up for Book of the Month and get your first month for free!

What do you think of the Book of the Month subscription? Which book (or books) did you pick this month?

Choose a great new book each month and read together with the Book of the Month community. The Judges select 5 new books each month in different genres and you'll get one as part of your membership. Either visit the site to select your Book of the Month, or leave it up to BOTM and they will choose o... read more.
Liz Cadman
Liz Cadman
Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She's been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!

Liz Cadman
Liz Cadman
Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She's been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
Join the Conversation

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *. Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.

1 comment

Michelle

Ooo that sounds good. I am so happy with my last month choice of The Mars Room. Might be jumping on this one too.

You Might Also Like

BoxyCharm August 2021 Box — Spoiler #1
BoxyCharm August 2021 Box — Spoiler #1
August 1, 2021
JourneeBox Subscription Review – Summer 2021 Editor’s Box
JourneeBox Subscription Review – Summer 2021 Editor’s Box
July 27, 2021
Macy’s Beauty Box August 2021 Spoilers!
Macy’s Beauty Box August 2021 Spoilers!
July 23, 2021
Alltrue New Summer Intro Box – Available Now
Alltrue New Summer Intro Box – Available Now
July 30, 2021
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.