LaOfficeBox Subscription Review + Coupon – January 2018


This post may contain referral/affiliate links. If you buy something, MSA may earn a commission. Read the full disclosure.

pink la office box january 2018

LaOfficeBox is a monthly women’s lifestyle subscription box filled with 4-7 chic items, including officewear, makeup, snacks, coffee, tea, office decor, and stationery.

packaging of la office box for january 2018

This box was sent to us at no cost for review. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

all items inside of la office box for january 2018

About LaOfficeBox

The Subscription Box: LaOfficeBox

The Cost: $39.00 per month, or save with a longer commitment.

COUPON: Get a bonus gift in your first box with code 1STBOX

The Products: 4-7 finds to help the professional woman feel fabulous, confident, and inspired.

Ships to: U.S. for $5.00 and Canada for $14.00

LaOfficeBox January 2018 Review

mistakes i made at work book

back of mistakes i made at work book

author of mistakes i made at work

page inside mistakes i made at work book

page inside book

Mistakes I Made at Work Edited by Jessica Bacal – Retail Value $16.00 (Found here for $12.01)

I love memoir-style collections like this paperback! The book contains stories from 25 women, including rock stars, professors, business leaders, and more. I really enjoyed flipping through these humble, educational, and encouraging stories.

Book Summary on Amazon:

High-achieving women share their worst mistakes at work—and how learning from them paved the way to success.

Named by Fast Company as a “Top 10 Book You Need to Read This Year”

In Mistakes I Made at Work, a Publishers Weekly Top 10 Business Book for Spring 2014, Jessica Bacal interviews twenty-five successful women about their toughest on-the-job moments. These innovators across a variety of fields – from the arts to finance to tech – reveal that they’re more thoughtful, purposeful and assertive as leaders because they learned from their mistakes, not because they never made any. Interviewees include:

  • Cheryl Strayed, bestselling author of Wild
  • Anna Holmes, founding editor of Jezebel.com
  • Kim Gordon, founding member of the band Sonic Youth
  • Joanna Barsch, Director Emeritus of McKinsey & Company
  • Carol Dweck, Stanford psychology professor
  • Ruth Ozeki, New York Times bestselling author of Tale for the Time Being
  • And many more

For readers of Lean In and #GirlbossMistakes I Made for Work is ideal for millenials just starting their careers, for women seeking to advance at work, or for anyone grappling with issues of perfectionism, and features fascinating and surprising anecdotes, as well as tips for readers.

the fun stuff canvas pouch

gold and pink canvas pouch

pink lining in the fun stuff canvas pouch

The Fun Stuff Canvas Pouch – Retail Value $11.99

I’ve become a big fan of canvas pouches in the past year. I have big ones, small ones, skinny ones… and I use them for just about everything, including (but not limited to) keeping makeup on the go, holding my stationery and sticker collections, storing tampons (pouches tucked into wire baskets are way cuter than just keeping them inside the box they come in, plus you can easily zip up the pouch and throw it in a weekender bag), keeping pens organized, keeping reusables (like reusable straws, chopsticks, and flatware) in my office desk drawer… You get the idea. Anyway, this pink and gold 9.25″ x 5″ canvas pouch is perfect for long skinny goodies, like pens, lipglosses, slender nail polishes, booklets of stamps, or paintbrushes and small paint tubes (what I plan to use it for).

white button up top

white collared shirt from behind

white collared shirt

cuffed sleeves on white button up

white button up shirt

white button up shirt with cuffed sleeves

close up on white button up shirt

Have White Button Down Top, Size Medium – Estimated Value $15.00

I had to guess at the cost of this top since I couldn’t find it online. $15.00 is about what I’d expect to pay for a shirt of this quality if I saw it at the mall.

This shirt is a medium, which is my usual, but it is on the small side. It definitely isn’t meant for shoulders as broad as mine, which is a shame, because a classic white shirt sounds like a great wardrobe staple to start the year with. It’s got a little bit of stretch to it, but not quite enough as my body needs. Still, I like how simple and versatile it is. So sad it didn’t fit super well.

mascara tube

black mascara

mascara and wand

Starlooks PerfectSize Gimme More Black Mascara – Retail Value $9.00

I initially thought that this mascara was a sample size because the tube is only about as long as my thumb. But it looks like Starlooks purposefully makes this product small. It’s small enough to toss into a pocket or purse before an event, which is nice. The formula doesn’t strike me as anything particularly fancy, but I do like that the big bristly brush made it easy to develop lots of volume with just a few quick strokes.

small iridescent lip gloss

bottom label on lip gloss

iridescent lip gloss and applicator

Starlooks PerfectSize Pure Lip Gloss, 0.09 oz. – Retail Value $12.00

This is another tinier product from Starlooks. I know it looks frosty white in the tube, but on my lips, it has a nice, translucent shine to it. It’s on the stickier side in my opinion, but it’s not a bad little lip gloss. I always want to get in on the iridescent trend, but I don’t necessarily want to go full-blown unicorn. This lip gloss is subtle while still making me feel a little more magical than usual.

black eye pencil in package

gold eye pencil

gold colored fine eye pencil

Starlooks Eye Pencil in Presence, 0.01 oz. – Estimated Value $13.00

I couldn’t find this product on the Starlooks site, so I linked to a similar item to give an estimate of how much it might be. This pencil was nice and soft, and the point is super fine, which lends itself well to dainty detailing around my eyelid. I have pretty pale skin, so the gold color wasn’t super noticeable, but I bet it would look amazing on someone with a richer skin tone.

makeup swatches

Here’s a quick swatch of everything, just to give you an idea. The iridescent gloss is on the top, the gold pencil is in the middle, and the bottom chunk is the mascara.

The Verdict: This box was a fun way to kick off the new year. I liked the idea of starting off with a white button up—the most classic and versatile work top, in my opinion—though I wish the fit would’ve been a little truer to size for me. The makeup was nice, too, but I think my favorite item was the book. It had that perfect kind of quirky, yet impactful tone that I like best in career-focused books. I feel like the $44.00 (after shipping) price is pretty fair, though I do wish I had gotten some slightly bigger makeup for that price point.

To Wrap Up:

Can I still get this box if I sign up today? No. Sign up now for the upcoming box!

COUPON: Get a discount with your first box with code 1STBOX

Value Breakdown: This box cost me $44.00 after shipping, which comes in around $7.33 per item for the six products I received this month. I had to estimate the value for a few hard-to-find items, but the items I could find a value for totaled $48.99! So we can at least say that you’re getting more than your money’s worth with this one!

Check out all of our LaOfficeBox reviews and our Women’s Lifestyle Subscription List!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

What do you think of LaOfficeBox?

Written by Anna Reilly

Anna Reilly

Anna loves collecting little treasures, be they pop-culture finds, handmade mementos, or new potions to put in her makeup bag. Beauty boxes got her interested in the subscription world, but now she’s swooning for all things kawaii!

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. If you buy something, MSA may earn an affiliate commission. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

Posted in Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, LaOfficeBox Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Boxes for Women| Tags: la office box | 2 comments

2 Comments

  1. The shirt does look a little snug in the shoulders – I actually usually have the opposite problem and my fix suggestion for you is the same as what I do – unbutton a couple top buttons, and throw a cardigan over the top! It does depend on if the shirt is uncomfortably snug under, but if it’s stretchy it can still add a hint of neatness to a loose sweater.

  2. I totally want a review of the December box with the work shirt that was totally see through.

    Starlooks used to have its own sub and I won a massive giveaway of its products years ago, on Makeup Talk. Only thing I ever won!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!