Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, LitJoy Crate Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, YA Book Subscription Boxes | Tags: | 4 comments

LitJoy Crate YA Subscription Box Review – November 2017

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

closed litjoy crate box on its side

LitJoy Crate is a monthly book subscription box for babies, kids, and teens. They send books and interesting book related items. They have crates for 3-7 (picture books), and 14+ (young adult).

open litjoy YA crate box

This box was sent to us at no cost to review. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

This is a review of the Young Adult, $29.99 a month, crate.

all items inside the litjoy crate YA edition for november 2017

About LitJoy Crate

The Subscription Box: LitJoy Crate 

The Cost: $29.99 per month + $8.99 US shipping, $14.99 shipping to Canada, and $24.99 shipping internationally.

COUPON: Use code MSA5 to save $5 off your first box!

The Products: Depending on your subscription type, you will receive newly released board books (2), picture books (1), or young adult books (1), plus 2-4 assorted book-related items.

Ships to: US for $8.99 (USPS), Canada for $14.99, and $24.99 shipping internationally.

LitJoy YA Crate Review for November 2017

back of the litjoy crate info card info booklet opened up litjoy crate ya november 2017 info card unfolded unfolded info card for november 2017 litjoy ya crate information booklet for the litjoy YA crate for november 2017

There’s an info card for the box. There’s information about this month’s featured fan artist on the back!

LitJoy YA Crate info card forged in friendship drawing of two male characters from litjoy november 2017

There’s also a card that explains a bit about the subscription and mentions the theme for December!

coupon with wizard of oz theme

I also got a coupon for the LitJoy store.

Otherworld hardcover book back of hardcover book called Otherworld inside jacket of otherworld hardcover book about the authors section on hardcover jacket of otherworld gray YA novel on its side

Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller – Retail Value $18.99 (Found here for $11.96)

First of all, yes, THAT Jason Segel. Freaks and Geeks, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, How I Met Your Mother Jason Segel. I had no idea he was an author, too! Geez, what a talented guy.

This book is pretty wild. It’s kind of a dystopian vision of how our tech-obsessed world might end up. Technology is everywhere in this story. You don’t really use it—you’re just kind of… in it. It’s a little bit of The Matrix, a little bit Westworld, and it’s packed with eerie adventure.

Book Summary from Amazon:

“Full of high stakes, thrillers, and fantastic twists and turns, fans of Ready Player One are sure to love this addictive read.” —
“A fantastic journey from start to finish.” —
“A potent commentary on how much we’re willing to give up to the lure of technology.” —
New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller imagine a world in which you can leave your body behind and give into your greatest desires in the first book in a new trilogy perfect for fans of Ready Player One and James Dashner’s The Eye of Minds. The future is now. And the future is terrifying.

That’s how Otherworld traps you. It introduces you to sensations you’d never be able to feel in real life. You discover what’s been missing—because it’s taboo or illegal or because you lack the guts to do it for real. And when you find out what’s missing it’s almost impossible to let it go again.

There are no screens. There are no controls. You don’t just see and hear it—you taste, smell, and touch it too. In this new reality, there are no laws to break or rules to obey. You can live your best life. Indulge every desire.

It’s a game so addictive you’ll never want it to end. Until you realize that you’re the one being played. Welcome to Otherworld, where reality is dead. Step into the future. Leave your body behind.

The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. Otherworld asks the question we’ll all soon be asking: if technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?

“An engaging VR cautionary tale.” —The A.V. Club

“[A] fast-paced adventure.” Publishers Weekly

“Authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller keep the action nonstop.” Shelf Awareness

virtual card about the authors card

There’s an about the author card that comes with the book.

otherworld postcard set otherworld themed postcard set

Otherworld Postcard Set

To go with the book, there’s a set of postcards from different “worlds” within the book. I think this is super clever, though I’m not sure who I’d send them to. Maybe I’ll have to share this book with a friend once I’m done with it so that they can be in on the reference! If you love the book, you can always frame these or use ’em as decor.

retro white sunglasses with saying on the side white plastic sunglasses on blue background white plastic sunglasses on blue background

Otherworld Sunglasses

These sunglasses are also part of what the info card refers to as “Bonus Products from the Publisher.” They’re just plastic sunnies, but they’d do in a pinch. The arms feature a catchphrase from the book.

otherworld luggage tag in red red luggage tag with plastic loop connector otherworld luggage tag open otherworld luggage tag in red

Otherworld Luggage Tag

The final promotional item is this plastic luggage tag. It comes with a card to write your address and info on, a plastic cover that clips shut around the card, and a clear plastic loop that you can use to attach it to your suitcase. I’m not one to use promo items all that often, but I’m always happy to get a new luggage tag, especially during winter travel season. I’ll be hanging on to this.

blue retro tumbler with straw blue retro tumbler with straw and lid off

Exclusive Ready Player One Quote Tumbler

This tumbler looks a lot like a retro soda fountain glass. The small design on the front says “Going outside is highly overrated,” which is a quote from Ready Player One (has everyone watched the trailer, yet?). The 16 oz. cup doesn’t seem like it’s dishwasher friendly, but it should serve me well in terms of helping me always have water on hand at my desk.

pillowcase with satiny finish throw pillow cover up close

Dumbledore Quote Pillowcase

The book this month is all about negotiating virtual reality and reality, so this Dumbledore quote fits neatly into the theme. It fits a standard throw pillow, so you can toss it on the couch or use it to decorate your bed. It has a silky finish to the fabric that makes the sapphire and gold tones feel all the more magical.

red envelope artistic lord of the rings bookmark in red envelope artistic lord of the rings bookmark lord of the rings illustrated bookmark back of a bookmark

Exclusive Lord of the Rings Wooden Bookmark

Ooooo, I love this bookmark! The designs remind me of retro tattoos. The colors really pop against the light-colored wood, too. I’m great at misplacing bookmarks, or letting them get smushed or shabby around the edges. This bookmark should endure a bit better!

small translucent pouch with star wars magnets inside set of two star wars mini magnets yoda star wars mini magnet luke skywalker star wars mini magnet

Star Wars Mini Magnets

These are so cute!!! Who else is super hyped for the new Star Wars movie?! (No spoilers!) This little soft-plastic Luke and Yoda are each only about an inch tall. They look like LEGO characters, don’t they?

artistic fantasy print

Feyre Art Print by Jo Painter

The featured art print this month I believe is a character from A Court of Thorns and Roses. I think its so cool that this box features different fan artists, though I’m sad to say I don’t often hang onto the prints I get, nor display them anywhere.

The Verdict: This was a fun LitJoy Crate. I liked that they chose items that all fit the same “vibe” as the featured book. There was the reality-bending Ready Player One reference, the sci-fi Star Wars pick, the adventurous Lord of the Rings bookmark, and the Harry Potter quote about perception. Referencing so many big-name franchises was probably a smart move, as it’s more likely that folks will find them familiar and like the products (as was the case for me). The many promo items weren’t my fave, quality-wise, but the other items (the pillowcase and the wooden bookmark, in particular) were pretty cool!

To Wrap Up:

Can you still get this box if you sign up today? No, though they do sometimes sell past crates on their site shop. Order by the 20th of the month to get that month’s crate!

Coupon – Use code MSA5 to save $5 off your first box!

Value Breakdown: The box cost me $38.98 after shipping. The book costs $18.99, meaning the rest of the exclusive and promotional items in the box must be worth $19.99. If I count all of the promotional Otherworld items as one set (which is what the info card does), each of those 5 items must have an average cost of about $4.00 each.

Check out all of our LitJoy Crate reviews and the Book Subscription Box Directory!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

 What do you think of the November LitJoy YA Crate?

Written by Anna Reilly

Anna Reilly

Anna loves collecting little treasures, be they pop-culture finds, handmade mementos, or new potions to put in her makeup bag. Beauty boxes got her interested in the subscription world, but now she’s swooning for all things kawaii!

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.


  1. Such a good box/awesome curation!

  2. I am so sad I didn’t sign up for this month now, I love the whole box! Ready Player One is my favorite book so I especially love the tumbler and I received a bookmark from Ink and Wonder in my Owlcrate and her designs are incredible!

    • Yay! I’m glad you got some Ink and Wonder goodness, too! That bookmark is just so cool. The design looks like something a wonderfully nerdy sailor should have tattooed on their arm, hehe.

      Thanks for reading, Janie!!!

  3. I just finished the court of thorns and roses triology (and I’m rereading it now) and I love that it included fan art! That being said that’s not really how I imagine feyre looking, but that’s okay.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!