My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
No results matched your query
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.

OwlCrate Jr. Book Subscription Box Review + Coupon – July 2017

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate
4.4 overall rating
36 Ratings | 7 Reviews

OwlCrate Jr is a monthly book subscription box for kids aged 8-12. They send books as well as interesting and educational book related items.

My Subscription Addiction paid for this box. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

The Subscription Box: OwlCrate Jr

The Cost: $27.99 a month, $80.97/3-month pre-pay, $155.94/6-month pre-pay. Plus $6.99 USPS flat-rate shipping, $10.59 shipping to Canada, and $19.99 shipping International.

LIMITED TIME DEAL: Now through 8/1, use coupon code SUMMERFUN to save 20% off a 3 or 6-month OwlCrate JR subscription!

OR

Use coupon code FBGIZMO to save 15% off your first box

The Products: You will receive (1) hardcover middle grade book plus assorted gender neutral book-related items.

Ships to: U.S., Canada, and International

Check out all of our Owl Crate Reviews and the Book Subscription Box Directory!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

An info card was included listing each item in the box as well as the theme for July: Magical Creatures.

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

The Unicorn in the Barn by Jacqueline K. Ogburn – Value $11.82 on Amazon (retail price $16.99)

This is a beautiful story about magical creatures, friendship, love and loss. Eric’s grandmother leaves her home to go to a nursing home and a veterinarian and her daughter move in to her house (which is next door to Eric’s home). He soon realizes that the veterinarian isn’t treating just normal cats and dogs. I loved the fantasy in this book, and also the fact that it was still deeply rooted in realistic fiction with relationships being the main thrust of the book. I think this book is best geared for older kids (10 and up) and I’m excited to book talk it in September with my students. The book has a few illustrations spattered throughout and it also came with an autographed bookplate to stick inside.

From Amazon:

For years people have claimed to see a mysterious white deer in the woods around Chinaberry Creek. It always gets away.
One evening, Eric Harper thinks he spots it. But a deer doesn’t have a coat that shimmers like a pearl. And a deer certainly isn’t born with an ivory horn curling from its forehead.
When Eric discovers the unicorn is hurt and being taken care of by the vet next door and her daughter, Allegra, his life is transformed.
A tender tale of love, loss, and the connections we make, The Unicorn in the Barn shows us that sometimes ordinary life takes extraordinary turns.

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

Author, Jacqueline K. Ogburn, included a letter about what inspired her to write this book and the work she did at a wildlife clinic in order to better research her story.

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

3-D Colorables Dragon – Value $7.99

This dragon is made of paper can be colored with crayons, markers, colored pencils or gel pens. It is then inflated using one of the included straws. My son is excited to try this project out, the dragon looks pretty cool and we have never seen a 3-D inflatable DIY project like this before.

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

Owl Bag Tag – Value $9.97

My daughter loves owls and was so excited there was something in the box for her! She immediately wanted me to attach this felt owl to her backpack. It’s a good size, about 4 x 7 inches and has room on the back to put her name and contact info if we wished.

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

Unicorn Poop Slime – Value $4.99

This slime is a different consistency than putty like Silly Putty or Aaron’s Thinking Putty. It is wet to the touch and doesn’t have much resistance when stretched. We liked the bright pink color and glitter, and the name sure gave us a giggle but after a few minutes, the kids quickly lost interest.

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

Postcard – Bonus

There was a postcard included with a sketch of Eric hugging the Unicorn.

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

Creature Catcher Badge – Value $2.50?

This patch is an iron-on so it will be easy to add to my son’s hoodie or t-shirt. I love the darling details from the gnome holding the rose, to the intricate stitching of the net and the cardinal flying by. Adorable!

Niffler Sticker – Value $1.00?

What a cute exclusive sticker of a Niffler (from Harry Potter). These furry long-snouted beasts love shiny things as you can see as he sits atop his treasure pile with the heart above his head.

AUGUST SPOILER ALERT!

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

OwlCrate Jr July 2017 - Magical Creatures - Kids Book Subscription Box

The August OwlCrate Jr. theme will be: Into the Woods. Next month will be another fantasy selection and it says it will be perfect for fans of Harry Potter.

Verdict: What a fun literature-based box geared for middle grade readers. I thought the curation was fun this month with the dragon toy and owl bag tag. The value this month was over $38 which is more than last month and more than the cost of the box itself ($27.99 a month plus $6.99 shipping). OwlCrate Jr seems to be heavily fantasy-based. I hope in future months to see some other genres represented as well to mix it up.

What did you think of OwlCrate Jr?

OwlCrate is a monthly subscription box for people who love Young Adult literature. Every month they send you a highly anticipated new YA release, as well as 3-5 bookish items (such as fandom jewelry, collectible toys, bookmarks, and more!). Each box will also include exclusive content from authors a... read more.
Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica's addiction started off slowly enough with Birchbox, but it has grown and grown over the last three years. An elementary school librarian and mom of two she loves boxes that are child-centric. But she'll never turn down a good fashion, beauty or tasty treat subscription.

Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica Telesmanich
Jessica's addiction started off slowly enough with Birchbox, but it has grown and grown over the last three years. An elementary school librarian and mom of two she loves boxes that are child-centric. But she'll never turn down a good fashion, beauty or tasty treat subscription.
Join the Conversation

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *. Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.

1 comment

Jessica

Seeing the the owl bag tag in the owlcrate Jr crate upsets me because they put it in there owlcrate box as well.

You Might Also Like

JourneeBox Subscription Review – Summer 2021 Editor’s Box
JourneeBox Subscription Review – Summer 2021 Editor’s Box
July 27, 2021
Allure Beauty Box August 2021 – Spoiler #1
Allure Beauty Box August 2021 – Spoiler #1
July 19, 2021
FabFitFun Fall 2021 Box – Full Spoilers
FabFitFun Fall 2021 Box – Full Spoilers
July 20, 2021
Sephora Favorites: Fresh Picks Perfume Sampler Review
Sephora Favorites: Fresh Picks Perfume Sampler Review
July 23, 2021
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.