My Subscription Addiction
My Subscription Addiction
No results matched your query
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.

Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club Review – A Tasteful Curation of Craft Beers From Award Winning Breweries

Jeanne Sager
ByJeanne SagerJul 27, 2021 | 0 comments

Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club Review - A Tasteful Curation of Craft Beers From Award Winning Breweries

My Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club Review

A Tasteful Curation of Craft Beers From Award Winning Breweries

Pros

  • New breweries from around the U.S. are featured each month, so you’re introduced to new brews you probably won’t find at your local supermarket.
  • Each delivery features three bottles of four different varieties (12 beers in total), so more than one person can drink an entire beer, even if you’re tasting together.
  • With different beer types in each box, there’s something for every type of beer drinker.

Cons

  • Beers are curated for you, so if you’re not a big fan of a certain type of beer, you may end up with 3 bottles of brew you just don’t like — but the company does offer a “they’ll love it” guarantee, so you can call them up if you don’t like your beer.
  • Deliveries must be signed for by someone who is 21 years of age or older, so you’ll need to have arrangements in place to accept the shipment.
  • The price is higher than a typical case of beer.

by Jeanne Sager, MSA Reviewer
July 27, 2021| Leave a comment

This box was sent to us at no cost for review. (Check out our review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

I enjoy tasting different beers and visiting breweries — my idea of a great outing is to hit up the oldest brewery in America with some friends to find out how they make their signature drinks. But when it comes to choosing something, I tend to stand in the grocery store cooler, look around at all the choices … only to go back to the same old standards. I want to expand my horizons, but hey, I know what works! So knowing Amazing Clubs’ Beer of the Month Club would select new beers for me and push me out of my comfort zone, I was eager to give this beer subscription service a try.

All About Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club

How Amazing Club Beer of the Month Club Works

The Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club works just the way the name describes it: the company sends subscribers a case with 4 different types of beer inside every month — 12 bottles in total.

What’s in the Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Delivery and much does it cost?

Each month, the Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club curates a selection of beer for subscribers by featuring two different breweries from around the United States. The brand chooses two beer varieties from each brewery, and sends you three bottles of each. Do a little math, and that’s four different beers delivered to your doorstep each month.

Each delivery also includes a copy of “The Frosted Mug,” a newsletter that gives you an intro to the featured breweries, so you can learn more about where they’re from, their brewing process, and what else is on tap!

Prices vary, depending on your subscription length, with savings for longer subscriptions:

  • 3-month subscription — $128.85 ($42.95 per month)
  • Seasonal subscription (four times per year) — $171.80 ($42.95 per month)
  • 6-month subscription — $251.70 ($41.95 per month)
  • 12-month subscription — $491.40 ($40.95 per month)

Can I pick my Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club beers?

The goal of Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club is to expose you to brand new beers, so you don’t actually get to choose your own beers. They do, however, offer a ‘They’ll Love It” guarantee, which means if you get a beer you really don’t like, you can call the company and ask for a refund on your brew.

Where does Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club ship and how much does it cost?

Shipping is free to the continental United States, and there is a surcharge for shipments to Alaska and Hawaii. The brand does not ship internationally at this time, although they do have a Canadian storefront for shipments to Canada.

Do I need to sign for my Beer of the Month Club delivery?

Although most subscriptions can be dropped on your doorstep by the delivery person, Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club is different. Because it contains alcohol, someone 21 or older must be home to sign off on the delivery. The brand will only deliver to residential and business addresses — no P.O. boxes.

Amazing Clubs Beer July 2021 - 0003

My Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club Review

My heritage is heavily German, so my family likes to joke that beer drinking is in our blood. Sure, I love a cold glass of pinot grigio, but if I’m going to unwind at a party, you can bet it’s with a bottle of beer. Needless to say, I was excited to get to try brand new brews that I won’t find in my local supermarket or even the big beer store.

Although tasting the beers was obviously the goal, I think what I loved most about this Beer of the Month Club was tasting each beer with my husband, as we have very different likes and dislikes when it comes to beer. I’m a big fan of pilsners (and I found a new fave!), while he is the one who grabs an IPA when we’re out for dinner. That difference in tastes made this box perfect for us as there was something for each of us.

Unboxing My Order

The Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club arrives in a standard brown box — nothing to write home about — but when I cut through the tape, I noticed immediately that the bottles were well crated to protect them during the shipping process. That’s a big deal when you’re talking about 12 glass bottles full of liquid!

Here’s what I found inside my July 2021 box:

1 Frosted Mug Guide

5/5 stars

Each Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club delivery comes with the brand’s newsletter, The Frosted Mug, and you’re going to want to hang onto this. Not only does it introduce you to the beers, but also to the breweries behind them, so you know where to follow up if you fall in love with one of the brews in your box.

3 bottles of Torch Pilsner

5/5 stars

I’m a pilsner fan, so this was the first beer I tried, and it was a great introduction to the box. The Czech-style beer has a bready scent and was a tad on the bitter side for a pilsner, but it was definitely refreshing and the one beer I claimed as my own, only offering a sip to my husband. It’s made by the Foothills Brewing Company in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. As a New Yorker, this was definitely a new brewery to me!

3 bottles of Good Ship Wit

4/5 stars

The second beer from Foothills, the Good Ship Wit is a classic Witbier and was my second favorite brew in the box. I admit I was a bit apprehensive when I saw that the ale was brewed with lime — I’m a citrus fan, but lime is my one “eh, I’ll take it if I have to.” Ultimately, I was pleasantly surprised. Good Ship Wit was refreshing and definitely worth another try.

3 bottles of Beerio

4/5 stars

You’re not supposed to judge a beer by its bottle, but I couldn’t help it with Beerio! This pale ale from Ale Asylum, a brewery in Madison, Wisconsin, has a Nintendo-esque label to go with the name, and I immediately knew my gamer husband was going to want to give it a try. Did it live up to the label? Well, yes. It was definitely lighter than I usually like, but with a fruity forward, it’s an easy drinking beer.

3 bottles of Demento

3/5 stars

This IPA was the least favorite of the four beers we tried, but that’s mostly my fault — I’m just not an IPA fan. Another brew from Ale Asylum, Demento was a bit too hoppy for my tastes, although my husband said he’d finish the batch!

What I Loved

I’m one of those people who drinks beers for the flavor. Hand me a beer I don’t like, and I’m going to politely say “thanks, but no thanks.” Tasting these new beers and getting acquainted with new flavors was a lot of fun, especially because I got to do it with my best friend in life, my husband. We had never heard of either of the two breweries featured, and that was perfect for us. We were able to try beers we definitely would not have tried if we’d stuck to the same old beer routine.

Amazing Clubs Beer July 2021 - 0005

What I Didn’t Like

The IPA

I know, I know. Not everyone likes every single beer, and that’s OK. But, well … I don’t like IPAs! This is why I’d recommend Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club only to beer drinkers who either like every beer out there (do these people exist?) or to folks who are planning to share the experience of opening up their box with a friend or maybe a few friends. I definitely would not have sat down to drink three bottles of a beer I didn’t like alone — and unlike food, beer isn’t exactly something you can donate to your local food pantry.

My Verdict – Is Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club Worth It?

Overall Appeal

5/5 stars

Like a snack food subscription I recently tested out with my family, the Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club experience was all about sharing it with someone I love. We were able to try things together, talk about what we liked (and didn’t like), and have a bonding experience.

I also loved the chance to taste new beers that I would never have had the chance to try unless I’d happened to take a trip to those breweries — which are pretty far from my house!

 

Price and Value

3/5 stars

Let’s face it, the Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club is significantly more expensive than buying a case of beer at the supermarket. Even with a discount for buying a year-long subscription, you’re still looking at spending more than $40 on 12 beers. Compare that to $17 for a case of Sam Adams at the grocery store, and this is not an inexpensive endeavor. You wouldn’t use this subscription to fill the beer cooler at your next backyard bash.

That said, I look at the price of Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club as the price of the experience, not just the beer itself. That’s when it becomes a bit more digestive.

 

Convenience

4/5 stars

My local beer store has a pretty varied selection, and I often find cool brews, but there’s a limit to what they have in stock. Knowing that Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club is out there, looking at independent breweries around the U.S. and curating a selection, certainly takes a lot of work off my plate to do that research!

 

The Fun Quotient

5/5 stars

I know I said it before, but sharing this experience with someone else really made this subscription box for me. Not only was I not drinking alone (ahem), but the beers were a great focal point of conversation. Although the price point may not make Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club a beverage source for a big party, I could see cracking open a few cold ones from the box with a group of friends who just like to try things out and taste test together.

 

You can try Beer of the Month for yourself here:


Have you tried Amazing Clubs Beer of the Month Club? Head to the comments section and let us know!


Each month we'll deliver 12 full-sized bottles of hard-to-find, premium-quality craft beers from boutique breweries across the country. We feature two different breweries every month and two different beers from each brewery - that's four varieties of unique craft beer in every shipment (three bottl... read more.
Jeanne Sager
Jeanne Sager
Jeanne Sager has strung words together for The New York Times, The Atlantic, and more. A writer, photographer, and social media geek, she lives in upstate NY with her family and too many pets.

Jeanne Sager
Jeanne Sager
Jeanne Sager has strung words together for The New York Times, The Atlantic, and more. A writer, photographer, and social media geek, she lives in upstate NY with her family and too many pets.
Join the Conversation

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *. Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.

You Might Also Like

Sephora Black-Owned Beauty Set Lets You Stock Up and Support a Great Cause
Sephora Black-Owned Beauty Set Lets You Stock Up and Support a Great Cause
September 15, 2021
Allure Limited Edition Best of Beauty Box – Coming Soon on 9/13!
Allure Limited Edition Best of Beauty Box – Coming Soon on 9/13!
September 10, 2021
GQ Best Stuff Box Fall 2021 Subscription Review
GQ Best Stuff Box Fall 2021 Subscription Review
September 7, 2021
BoxyCharm October 2021 – Choice and Add-Ons Open NOW!
BoxyCharm October 2021 – Choice and Add-Ons Open NOW!
September 13, 2021
Our reviewers research, test, and recommend the best subscriptions and products independently; click to learn more about our editorial guidelines. We may receive commissions on purchases made through links on our site.