MSA is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read the full disclosure.

Peace & Pages Deluxe Box Review + Coupon – Drama + Suspense

Peace & Pages is a monthly subscription box that offers a new book to read every month combined with items to promote serenity and relaxation. They offer various subscription models, including the Basic for $25.99 a month (which comes with a book, a bath or body product, and an aromatherapy option), the Deluxe for $37.99 a month (which includes everything from the Basic box along with a book accessory or book item plus a gourmet snack or drink), or Just The Peace, Please for $32.99 (which is the bi-monthly non-book option).

All three box options are also available on a bi-monthly basis.

The book will be unread in new or like-new condition, and when you subscribe you choose three genres from a choice of ten different options. Some of the genre options include classics, biography, romance, true crime, and science fiction. 

This is a review of the Deluxe Box for $37.99 + $6.99 shipping/month. The three genre options I chose were Romance, Suspense, and Historical Fiction.

This box was sent to us at no cost for review. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

About this Book Subscription Box

The Subscription: Peace & Pages

The Cost: $37.99/month (or bi-monthly) for the Deluxe box + shipping. Save with longer subscriptions.

COUPON: Use code HIGH5WELCOME to get 5% off your first box!

The Products: Each Deluxe box will include a book, bath product, aromatherapy product, an accessory/gift item, and a gourmet snack to drink—all of which aim to promote peace and relaxation.

Ships to: The US for $6.99

Peace & Pages Deluxe Box January 2020 Review

Here is the info sheet for this month’s box.

 

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde by Eve Chase – Retail Value $11.62

The first chapter of this book captures you with drama and suspense, so I found myself already invested within the first few pages. Eve Chase does a great job of weaving the story of what’s occurring during the present day to what occurred fifty years ago, so even though there are a lot of characters to remember, I didn’t have difficulty doing so. Overall, I liked the buildup of suspense throughout the book and enjoyed reading this during a long, hot bath.

From Amazon:

From the present day. . . Applecote Manor captivates Jessie with dreams of hazy summers in the Cotswolds, the perfect place to bring up her children. But the house has an unsettling history and strange rumours surround the estate. . .

to the fifties. . . When teenage Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote during the heatwave of ’59, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. Drawn into the life Audrey left behind and the mystery of her vanishing, the stifling summer takes a shocking, deadly turn.

The bonds of sisterhood will be tested and an unthinkable choice will have a decades-long legacy. . . Step back in time for a mystery of breathtaking suspense – perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

 

Sweet Soft Skin Strawberries and Champagne Soap Bar – Retail Value $7

This soap is genuinely too pretty to use- I want to just leave it out on display in my bathroom. The soap is made from cold-processed silk, shea butter, and cocoa butter, so along with looking stunning, it left my skin feeling soft. This had the strong champagne scent that set it apart from my other fruity soaps, and I found the overall experience to be refreshing.

 

Midwest Sea Salt Company Champagne Fizz Incense – Buy a bundle of approx. 85-105 sticks for $7.82

I wasn’t sure how to value this item- a set of about 100 incense sticks from the brand retails for $7.82, but that doesn’t include the incense holder that this came packaged with. I have burned incense before but this is the first time I’ve actually had a wooden holder for it, and it makes the process (and cleanup) much easier. The actual champagne fizz scent of this wasn’t too strong because it was competing with the more earthy scent of the incense burning, but overall I still enjoyed the ambiance this created.

 

HobKnobin Book Wine Stopper – Retail Value $7.99

I always like to have wine stoppers handy, and I think the book design on this one is cute and ties in well to the overall theme of the box. I do think the retail price is a bit high for what this is, but I guess that isn’t for me to decide.

 

Molly and Mia Bubbly Strawberry Gourmet Marshmallows, 4 ct – Buy a dozen for $10

I loveeee gourmet marshmallows, and these had a really great texture- soft and springy without being mushy. This again perfectly fit with the champagne theme throughout the box, and the overall flavor wasn’t too sweet at all. The website also suggests trying these frozen, which is an idea I have never had but sounds absolutely delightful.

Verdict: I love the idea behind this subscription box- books, self-care, and relaxation have always been my go-to way to de-stress, and this wraps up that concept and sends it to you in a monthly box. This box places an emphasis on including items from small businesses across the country (the info sheet lists the state each small business is located in, which I thought was a fun touch), and in what I experienced, that did not mean a lack of quality items. I will say that the value of the items this month felt a bit low in relation to the cost of the box, but if supporting small businesses and thoughtful curation are subscription box qualities you look for, I would still say this is a box worth checking out.

To Wrap Up:

Can I still get this box if I sign up today? No, the current month’s box is currently sold out, but if you subscribe now you will receive the April box.

COUPON: Use code HIGH5WELCOME to get 5% off your first box!

Value Breakdown: This box costs $37.99 + $6.99 shipping, which means that each of the 5 items in the box has an average cost of $9.00.

Check out our other Peace & Pages reviews here, more book subscription boxes, and the best personal care boxes, as voted on by readers like you!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

Do you subscribe to Peace & Pages? What do you think?

Peace & Pages Box

How do subscribers rate Peace & Pages Box?


Created with Sketch.

Never miss a post: get email alerts about Peace & Pages Box!

Enable notifications () to get the latest Peace & Pages Box spoilers, reviews, deals, and news delivered to your inbox.


Written by Jessica Hapak

Jessica Hapak

I am a staunch believer that pineapple doesn’t belong on pizza and when I’m not working as a family law attorney I enjoy hiking the Louisiana trails (alligator sightings are a favorite!) or relaxing with Duchess, my cat. I’m a sucker for anything labeled a mystery box and I’ve never met a bath bomb I didn’t like.

Posted in Book Subscription Boxes, Peace & Pages Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Boxes for Women| Tags: peace and pages box | 0 comments

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Remember to post with kindness and respect. Comments with offensive language, cruelness to others, etc will not be approved. See our full comment policy here.