Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Uppercase Reviews, YA Book Subscription Boxes | Tags: | 1 comment

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – January 2018

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Uppercase is a YA book subscription box from Lisa Parkin. Each month Uppercase sends you a new YA book, a related accessory, and exclusive content from the author of the chosen book.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

The Subscription Box: Uppercase

The Cost: $29 (If you want them to pick a book based on your tastes the cost is $35 each month)

The Products: “When you sign up for Uppercase, every month you’ll receive:

  • 1 exciting new YA book
  • 1 book accessory (funky items like bookmarks, posters, jewelry, totes, etc)
  • A personal explanation of the choice + other similar titles
  • Discount codes for popular book buying websites
  • Exclusive content from the author of that month’s book”

Ships to: US and Canada (extra shipping costs for Canadian subscribers).

Ships via: USPS

Check out all my reviews of Uppercase and all my reviews of Book Subscription Boxes!

Each box includes a printed sheet detailing the items included, and a note from Lisa.

There is also a read-along bookmark with codes for when you hit certain pages – and you’ll get questions, polls, videos, etc. that go along with the book.

A Conspiracy of Stars – Retail Value $17.99

Book Summary from Amazon:

Enter the vivid and cinematic world of Faloiv in the first book of this dazzling YA sci-fi/fantasy series, perfect for fans of Carve the Mark, Red Rising, and These Broken Stars.

Octavia has always dreamed of becoming a whitecoat, one of the prestigious N’Terra scientists who study the natural wonders of Faloiv. So when the once-secretive labs are suddenly opened to students, she leaps at the chance to see what happens behind their closed doors.

However, she quickly discovers that all is not what it seems on Faloiv, and the experiments the whitecoats have been doing run the risk of upsetting the humans’ fragile peace with the Faloii, Faloiv’s indigenous people.

As secret after disturbing secret comes to light, Octavia finds herself on a collision course with the charismatic and extremist new leader of N’Terra’s ruling council. But by uncovering the mysteries behind the history she’s been taught, the science she’s lived by, and the truth about her family, she threatens to be the catalyst for an all-out war.

Every Uppercase book is signed by the author, too:

This book was interesting, unique, and a nice break from the typical Fantasy or Contemporary YA genres I read. That being said, I found the book to be slow. Not slow enough that I didn’t finish it, but slow enough that I had no problem putting it down.

This is the first part of a three-book series, and I’m guessing the first book might be much slower than the next two since the author had to establish so much about this world. There is a small romance of the insta-love variety that I didn’t care for, but again, I think that can be attributed to being book one.

Would I recommend this book? I would for the right person. (If a book with Avatar vibes sounds good to you, you might be the right person.) Will I read the next book? I think so – but I’d need it to have faster pacing.

Soar into Space Wooden Bookmark – Estimated Value $12?

This wooden Bookmark is made by Vector Engraving, and it is an Uppercase exclusive! (And perfect for the Sci-Fi theme of this month’s book!)

Kawaii Typewriter Sticker – Estimated Value $1?

Thanks to subscription boxes, I’ve become a bit of a sticker fan! This one is going on my laptop! (My days of worrying I’ll grab the wrong laptop at airport security are in the past! 🙂 )

This month also included an additional bookmark, with the Uppercase info on the back:

Time for one more Uppercase exclusive:

Jane Austen Quote Print – Estimated Value $1o?

 

What a lovely, cozy, print! And I always appreciate foil text detail!

Verdict: This box has an estimated value of about $41. I think the value is always there with this subscription – the book curation is very thoughtful, and it’s great getting a signed book each month. Plus, the bookish goodies are always cute!

What do you think of this month’s Uppercase box? Did you like the book?

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

1 Comment

  1. I recently selected “A Conspiracy of Stars” from my TBR list. And Lisa Parkin has done it again! I devoured this book!

    This sub has remained one of my favorites because the book selection is ah-mazing! I am constantly introduced to books that I might not have run across and end up falling in love with. I can not recommend this subscription enough.

    Regarding this book I would agree that this has a lot of Avatar vibes except while I found Avatar to be missing a little magic (I don’t know if it was the writing or because some of the acting was too one note) but this book felt so special. Maybe it was because the main character was so uncertain and didn’t easily stumble across answers like many books or maybe it was this strange, beautiful world Cole created… I don’t know but I read this book in every spare moment I had from the moment I opened it up.

    I also loved that the many of the characters appear to be Black. Growing up as a lover of fantasy and sci-fi and seeing worlds apparently devoid of people of color it was refreshing to see a world with people of color in it (although I will note since so many people appear to be Black it did make me wonder what happened to everyone else). As an African-American seeing so many varied characters of color (not just the mystical lovable black lady) and seeing examples of Black love and attraction was uplifting.

    The environmental and animals rights messages were also greatly appreciated. I could go on an on about this book (and about Uppercase box) but this is already super long and the kids are destroying our house…

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!