Posted by on in Australian Subscription Box Reviews, Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, OwlCrate JR Reviews, OwlCrate Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Boxes for Kids, UK Subscription Box Reviews | Tags: | 1 comment

OwlCrate Jr. Book Box Review + Coupon – November 2017

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Box

OwlCrate Jr is a monthly book subscription box for kids aged 8-12. They send books as well as interesting and educational book related items.

My Subscription Addiction paid for this box. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes.)

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Review

The Subscription Box: OwlCrate Jr.

The Cost: $27.99 a month, $80.97/3-month pre-pay, $155.94/6-month pre-pay. Plus $6.99 USPS flat-rate shipping, $10.59 shipping to Canada, and $19.99 shipping International.

Coupon: For a limited time, use coupon code CURSES15 to save 15% off an OwlCrate JR subscription!

The Products: You will receive (1) hardcover middle grade book plus assorted gender neutral book-related items.

Ships to: U.S., Canada, and International

Check out all of our Owl Crate Reviews and the Book Subscription Box Directory!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Booklet

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Booklet2

An info card was included listing each item in the box as well as the theme for November: Curses.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Book

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend – Retail Value $17.99 (found on sale here for $9.88)

I’ve been hearing some people call this new middle-grade novel the next Harry Potter. While I haven’t finished it yet, I wouldn’t go that far as to compare new author Jessica Townsend with J.K. Rowling. I am enjoying the book though, especially the main character, a girl named Morrigan. 

From Amazon:

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she’s blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks–and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday.

But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor.

It’s then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city’s most prestigious organization: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart–an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests–or she’ll have to leave the city to confront her deadly fate.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Bookplate

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Letter

Included with the book this month was a Nevermoor notepad, a signed bookplate by Jessica Townsend as well as a letter printed on the back of a cool Nevermoor art card.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Grimm

Grimms’ Fairy Tales by Brothers Grimm – Retail Value $5.99 (found on sale here for $4.83)

This is a fabulous anthology of the well-known Grimm fairy tales. There are also many included in this comprehensive collection which is lesser known. The stories are short and so the book is easy to just pick up and read one or two when you have a few moments. They’re filled with every sort of magical creature you can imagine and lots of creepy antics to keep you frightened.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Amethyst

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Amethyst2

Amethyst – Retail Value $7.00?

This little rough cut amethyst comes in a small pouch for safekeeping. Amethyst is said to ward off bad energy, perfect if someone is trying to put a curse on you. I love the beautiful purple color.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Pencils

“Unforgiveable Curse” Pencils – Retail Value $3.00?

Jubilee designs made these OwlCrate Jr. exclusive “unforgivable curse” pencils. The pack came with three pencils and each is a different color barrel.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Tatoos

Good Luck Charm Tattoos – Retail Value $5.00?

Tattly has made these OwlCrate Jr. exclusive temporary tattoos for this month’s curse themed box. Now you can ward off any evil curses with your own good luck talismans right on your arm, hand or wherever you want to stick these tattoos!

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Button

Book of Spells Button – Retail Value $0.50?

Since the premise of this book is curses, the voodoo doll button was a perfect touch.

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Postcard

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Postcard2

Gravity Falls Postcard – Bonus

We also received a Gravity Falls postcard this month. Gravity Falls isn’t a series I’m familiar with, so this postcard felt a bit random to me, but I could be missing something…

SPOILER ALERT!

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Spoiler

OwlCrate Jr November 2017 Curses Spoiler2

The December OwlCrate Jr. theme will be Abra Cadabra. The selection features plucky characters on a magic-filled adventure and will be perfect for fans of Hugo Cabret and the circus.

Verdict: OwlCrate Jr.’s November box was a cool theme and it was especially nice to receive two books this month! The estimated retail value this month was $39.48 which is about $5 higher than the cost of the box ($27.99 a month plus $6.99 shipping). We love receiving OwlCrate Jr. and highly recommend it for middle grade readers who love fantasy literature.

What did you think of OwlCrate Jr.?

Written by Jessica Telesmanich

Jessica Telesmanich

Jessica’s addiction started off slowly enough with Birchbox, but it has grown and grown over the last three years. An elementary school librarian and mom of two she loves boxes that are child-centric. But she’ll never turn down a good fashion, beauty or tasty treat subscription.

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

1 Comment

  1. My son loves this box. Everyone subscribe so we can keep it going!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!