Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, Subscription Box Reviews, The Nocturnal Reader's Box Reviews, YA Book Subscription Boxes | Tags: | 9 comments

The Nocturnal Reader’s Box Subscription Review + Coupon – July 2017

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

Nocturnal Reader’s Box is a monthly book subscription box “for fans of Horror, Sci-Fi, Fantasy Books and Psychological Thrillers.”

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Subscription Box: Nocturnal Reader’s Box

The Cost: $35.00 for the month to month subscription. There is a price break for 3 and 6-month prepaid subscriptions. US shipping is an $8.00 flat fee.

COUPON: Use code GET10OFF to save 10% off!

The Products: Each month subscribers receive the following:

  • Newly released novel
  • Previously released novel (Not Used)
  • Custom themed art print
  • 1-2 wearable items
  • 6-8 Items total items
  • $60-80 value

Ships to: All over the world. The prices vary and will be calculated at checkout after the ZIP/Country code is input. All US shipping is a flat rate fee of $8.

Check out more themed book of the month clubs in the Book Subscription Box Directory!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Nocturnal Reader’s Box theme for July is “The Feast.” Time to get your gross on! I was excited when I found out the theme for this month.

Each month’s box contains a bookmark and this month it looks yummy.

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Nocturnal Reader’s Box also includes a list of all items included in the box with some information about the items. I enjoy all types of books but since I don’t have a lot of knowledge of this genre I appreciate the references. The flip side of this card shows next month’s theme but I’ll save that until later.

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

Come to Dust by Bracken Macleod –Value $17.93

This is the new release for the month. I’m looking forward to reading this book- it will come with me camping this week! One in four of the books sent out was signed but sadly, the odds were against me.

Here’s the book summary from Amazon:

Ever since her mother abandoned her, five-year-old Sophie has had to depend on her uncle Mitch for everything. Though their life is difficult, he works hard to keep their family together, despite the obstacles in their way. But just when everything seems to be looking up for them, it all comes crashing down when Sophie dies tragically. Mitch descends into a crippling grief, not knowing how to continue on without her.

When scores of children around the world begin to inexplicably rise from the dead–Sophie among them–everything becomes much harder.

Mitch rescues her from the morgue, determined to carve out a normal life for them no matter what, though it soon becomes clear that may not be possible. While the kids who’ve returned behave like living children, they still look very dead. And they can do something else that normal children cannot. Something terrifying. While debate rages over whether the children’s return is a mercy or a sign of approaching judgment, a congregation of religious fanatics determined to usher in the apocalypse has its own plan for salvation.

Now Mitch must find a way to save Sophie from an increasingly hostile world that wants to tear them apart and put her back in the ground for good.

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

Bleed by Ed Kurtz –Value $17.91

This is the previous release for the month. The reviews on Amazon say it’s really gory. I’ve been reading this one during the day. The card says one in four of these books were signed too. I was unlucky twice.

Here’s the book summary from Amazon:

When Walt Blackmore moves into an old gable front house on the outskirts of a small town, things are really looking up for him; he has an adoring girlfriend to whom he plans to propose, a new job teaching English at the local high school, and an altogether bright future. His outlook and destiny are irreparably changed, however, when an unusual dark red spot appears on the ceiling in the hallway. Bit by bit, the spot grows, first into a dripping blood stain and eventually into a grotesque, muttering creature. 

As the creature grows, Walt finds himself more and more interested in fostering its well-being. At first he only feeds it stray animals so that the blood-hungry monster can survive, but this soon fails to satisfy the creature’s ghastly needs. It is gradually becoming human again, and for that to happen it requires human blood and human flesh. And once Walt has crossed the line from curiosity to murder, there is no going back. 

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

NOS4A2 Bike License Plate – Value $5.00?

This bike plate is in reference to a 2013 book by Joe Hill titled the same, NOS4A2 (pronounced Nosferatu, like the vampire.) I can’t wait to put this on my daughter’s bike.

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Silence of the Lambs Mini Stemless Wine Glass (minus the Chianti) – Value $8.00?

This glass is so fun! I can’t wait to give it to my brother-in-law who is a huge fan of The Silence of the Lambs.

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

The Troop-inspired Pin – Value $3.00?

I haven’t read The Troop but I’m guessing this box will give me lots of ideas for future reading!

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

Jaws-inspired Keychain/Bottle Opener – Value $5.00?

Of course, I know the book Jaws! I love that the keychain is a bottle opener too.

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

Apron – Value $5.00?

The card reads, “An apron for all your cooking needs, just heed the Warning…” I don’t know what the reference is here. Do any of you know?

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

“The Night of the Vampire” Art Print by Michael Broom – Value $15.99?

I really have no idea how much this commissioned art might cost so give this value some leeway. The art is good but not necessary something I could display in front of my very scaredy cat 7-year-old.

AUGUST SPOILER ALERT:

The Nocturnal Reader's Box July 2017

For those of you who enjoy a sneak peak, the theme for August is “Infested & Infected”.

Verdict: The Nocturnal Reader’s Box is really great box for lovers of horror, sci-fi, fantasy and psychological thrillers. I lean more toward sci-fi and psychological thrillers but I’m glad to expand my horizons with this box. A true devotee of these genres would probably get most of the references that I did not but that didn’t keep me from enjoying everything. I will read both of the books and use the license plate, bookmark and the keychain/bottle opener.

As for the value, my guess is about $78 worth of products for $35.00 (plus $8.00 shipping) which is great for a box of this kind!

Are you ready to get your fright on with The Nocturnal Reader’s Box?

Written by Shawn Brossart

Shawn Brossart

Shawn is a recent subscription box addict but when she fell, she fell hard. She can’t resist a bargain so she receives all kinds of boxes. Her current favorites are natural, holistic, and health and fitness related.

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

9 Comments

  1. This box looks really interesting! I like psychological thrillers and mysteries, but not horrors so much. I still like the looks of this box. I wish they gave some choices, that would really make it awesome!

  2. This looks awesome. Thanks for reviewing.

  3. I think the apron meant exactly what it said. I am not sure why I looked at this review, maybe because I love sci-fi that does not involve eating people or aliens popping out of a stomach. But to those of you who like these types of books and movies, go for it. Now I know not to look at these reviews again.

  4. I love anything Stephen King. Does anyone know if they sell past boxes?

    • I’m pretty sure they sold out of June’s boxes, but they have some individual items from the box for sale on their website, like the IT and Carrie stickers, Dark Tower bandana, and Creepshow patch.

      • Thanks Erin, I will check out their site and see what they have.

  5. This review should probably not be tagged with “YA Book Subscription Box”. The owners have stated quite clearly that they’re looking to fill a niche for adult horror/sci-fi not covered by most book boxes, and will *not* send YA books.

  6. Yay, so happy to see this box finally get reviewed! I was wondering when MSA would catch up to the awesomeness of Nocturnal Reader’s Box 🙂 It’s just too bad you didn’t get to review the June “All Hail the King” box that was all Stephen King themed items. That one was INCREDIBLE!

  7. So excited to see this reviewed! Can’t wait for mine to arrive, although the synopsis for Come to Dust sounds a lot like a book they sent a few months ago (Suffer the Children). I think the apron is just a general funny statement, and not a specific reference to anything. I love the kitchen focus for the theme!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!