Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, Paper Street Books And Comics Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews | Tags: | 2 comments

Paper Street Books and Comics Box Review – January 2017

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0001

Paper Street Books and Comics is a bi-monthly mystery book box for those who are obsessed with reading! Each month you’ll receive a graphic novel and an adult fiction novel from the sci-fi, fantasy, or horror genre. This box features both indie and mainstream publishers.

My Subscription Addiction paid for this box. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

Paper-Street-January-2017-0002

Paper Street Books and Comics has three subscription options. All subscription options include awesome bookish goods, with the Book Addict option containing a featured novel and the Comic Addict option containing a featured graphic novel.

This is a review of the Book Warrior, $44.99 every other month, box, which includes the novel and graphic novel!

Paper-Street-January-2017-0003

The Subscription Box: Paper Street Books and Comics

The Cost: $44.99 a box for the Book Warrior subscription + shipping. The Book Addict (includes the featured novel) and Comic Addict (includes the featured graphic novel) subscriptions are $29.99 a box + shipping 

The Products: A featured novel, graphic novel, and 1-3 items related to the theme/book.

Ships to: U.S. for $6.95, Canada for $19.95, and U.K. for $24.95

Check out all of our Paper Street Books and Comics reviews and the Book Subscription Boxes List!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

Paper-Street-January-2017-0004

Paper-Street-January-2017-0005

The information booklet included each item with a brief description and a note from the curators. This month’s box was a celebration of the “Leading Ladies of Sci-fi.”

Paper-Street-January-2017-0019

Paper-Street-January-2017-0022

Astrid: Cult of the Volcanic Moon by Kim W. Anderson – Value $12.77 on Amazon (retail price $19.99)

This is the first book in the Galactic Peacekeeper series and it introduces us to our protagonist Astrid, who is on her way to becoming a peacekeeper when things go awry. After being expelled from the academy for something she didn’t do, we join Astrid on her adventures and journey to clear her name. A mission from a former teacher gives her the opportunity redeem herself and maybe live up to her parents legacy. This is a nice introduction to the characters and creatures in Astrid’s galaxy. 

Paper-Street-January-2017-0021

This included a note from Kim W Anderson, welcoming us to Astrid’s world. I love the author’s notes, they give this box such a personal touch.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0020

I really enjoyed the artwork and the cool tones gave the intergalactic scenery a great vibe.

Book Summary from Amazon: 

She was the Galactic Coalition’s top recruit until an incident on her final exam had her drummed out of the service. Now, down and out and looking for another shot at her dream, Astrid receives a special mission from her former commander. Alongside her old classmate Ulf, Astrid will have to survive giant insecs, brutal sects, and the ancient evil of an uncharted volcanic moon if she wants to prove herself worthy of another chance at becoming a Galactic Peacekeeper!

Swedish comics creator Kim W. Andersson (The Complete Love Hurts, Alena) weaves a comedic sci-fi epic for fans of Firefly and Mass Effect! Hold on to your butts!

Paper-Street-January-2017-0023

Paper-Street-January-2017-0024

Paper-Street-January-2017-0026

Husks: The First Book by Randall P. Fitzgerald – Value $10.99 on Amazon

Husks is a novel set in a futuristic, cyberpunk LA and we get to follow Puck, a scavenger. The books open with a lot of action that never really slows down. Puck accepts a job from an “evergreen” which is someone higher up in the class system. This sets her off on a classified mission with a doctor from Boston to find an object in the heart of LA. The setting of this novel is pretty bleak but the main character has a sharp, sarcastic humor and there are moments of humanity.  If you’re a fan of post-apocalyptic fiction that can be violent (The Walking Dead, Mad Max, etc), this is a novel worth checking out.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0025

The notes from the authors are always great and this one made me laugh. I also loved the fact that it came on a sticker. I peeled the back off and put this in my copy of Husks. What a nice way to keep this memento intact!

Book Summary from Amazon:

Puck’s a scavenger in the husk of what used to be Los Angeles.

There’s work there. Not much of it honest. She’s been there long enough to know what trouble looks like and how to avoid it. And she knows better than to trust any evergreen who comes making stupid promises. Living comes first.

She’s pragmatic, but that has its own sort of problems. Especially when money outweighs the reasons to say no.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0011

Paper-Street-January-2017-0009

Paper-Street-January-2017-0010

Husks Cover Art Print + Bookmark – Value $1?

This box contained a postcard sized print and bookmark featuring the cover art from Husks. I always appreciate a bookmark to help keep me from dog-earing my books. This bookmark was numbered too – mine was 93/100.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0007

Paper-Street-January-2017-0008

They also included a second bookmark featuring another Fitzgerald novel – No One’s Chosen. I really liked the artwork of this bookmark and the summary of the story on Amazon fits the female-centric theme of this box. I love getting a bonus bookmark and book suggestion!

Paper-Street-January-2017-0017

Paper-Street-January-2017-0018

Big Bad Boom! Soap Inspired by Leeloo from The Fifth Element – Value $4?

Leeloo is truly an iconic woman of sci-fi and this Big Bada Boom soap is inspired by her. The inspiration is obvious when you see the color of the soap which is a bright orange, similar to Leeloos vibrant hair. The label also features an illustration of her. This Supreme Being of the Universe in soap form is scented with vanilla, dragon’s blood, and orange. The smell reminds me of an orange creamsicle and it’s a really nice, invigorating combination.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0012

Paper-Street-January-2017-0013

“Hush, Let Them Geek Out” Soft Enamel Pin Inspired by Isabel of Saga – Value $10?

Saga is one of my favorite series from the past few years. If you haven’t check it out yet and you enjoy sci-fi and/or comics, I can’t recommend it enough. This enamel pin is of Izabel, a ghost who accompanies the main characters throughout their adventure. This pin is numbered 87/100 and is a Paper Street exclusive. I have a small but exciting enamel pin collection and this is a great addition! I like enamel pins because they have a nice weight to them and this is no exception.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0014

Paper-Street-January-2017-0015

Paper-Street-January-2017-0016

Amy Pond Doctor Who Tea – Value $5

Amy Pond is a polarizing character among my Whovian friends but I’m a fan of hers! This little tin feature Amy on the front and slides open to reveal the fragrant tea inside. The tea has a moderate caffeine level and features flavors of cinnamon, ginger, orange, vanilla chai, cranberry, and cloves. The combination creates a nice scent and flavor that mixes fruit and spices really well. I really enjoyed this tea and the tin is a great size to store little odds and ends. This tea is part of Adagio Teas Fandom Blends line which features teas based on a seemingly endless list of fandoms.

Paper-Street-January-2017-0027

Paper-Street-January-2017-0028

John Steinbeck Tote – Value $5?

This black tote features the Steinbeck quote “It seems as though there are never enough books”. This is a very fitting quote for this box! The simple design features an open book and it’s a pretty large tote. The tote is a little thin so I wouldn’t recommend using it for anything too heavy.  I’m also not sure that a Steinbeck quote immediately makes me think of leading ladies in sci-fi but, as a Steinbeck fan, this is a nice addition to my tote collection.

Verdict: This is the second box I’ve received from Paper Street and it’s quickly moved up the ranks on my favorites list. Using my own estimates and Amazon pricing, I think this box comes in around $48. For me, book boxes are always difficult because you can hunt around for really cheap book prices online. But the value of this box is definitely the curation. I really enjoy sci-fi, fantasy, and horror but don’t always have the time to scour for gems in each genre. This box reminds me of a friend of mine who always give me perfect book recommendations. These are two books I haven’t heard of yet but I enjoyed both enough to check out the authors’ other works! And the bookish items hit on some of my favorite fandoms. This box is a total hit for me!

What do you think of Paper Street Books and Comics?

Written by Sarah Paul

Sarah Paul

Sarah’s first box was Honest Company and she was excited to learn that there are boxes to cover many of her interests which include coffee, sci-fi, books, pop culture, comics, and makeup. She’s currently loving Stars Hollow Monthly and Vegan Cuts, and can’t wait to find more!

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

2 Comments

  1. What an awesome theme! But you’re right, that tote doesn’t fit with the retail at all!

  2. I’m loving that pin!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!