Box of the Week: Try Switch for $9! Rent Jewelry by Hermes, Chanel & More

Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, LitCube Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews | Tags: , | 4 comments

LitCube Book Subscription Box Review + Coupon– December 2016

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

LitCube is a book and reading-inspired subscription box. Each month’s box contains a book, as well as other treats to fit the theme, like wearables, gifts, housewares, and snacks.

My Subscription Addiction paid for this box. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

The Subscription Box: LitCube

The Cost: $34.95 per month

COUPON: Use coupon code msa10 to save 10% off your first box!

The Products: Hand-picked books alongside other non-book finds that fit the theme

Ships to: U.S. for free. Canada for $10 shipping and handling. Shipping to all other countries is $14.99.

Check out all of our LitCube reviews and all of our reviews of Book Subscription Boxes!

Keep Track of Your Subscriptions: Add this box to your subscription list or wishlist!

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

Each box has a theme, and this month is “Sherlocked”! Fans of the classic character (and the show) are sure to enjoy these fun finds!

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

Here’s a list of what’s inside.

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty – Value $12.14 on Amazon (retail price $17.99)

Kicking off the box is this hardcover copy of a fresh YA twist on the classic Sherlock Holmes story. There’s still lots of mystery, but this time, there’s a bit of teen romance as well!

Book Summary on Amazon:

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more…

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori” Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock’s one rule—they must share every clue with each other—Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can’t trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again.

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

This book seems like a fun way to get teens you know interested in the old-school stories more mature readers know and love!

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

Lock & Mori: Mind Games by Heather W. Petty – Value $12.22 on Amazon (retail price $17.99)

But wait, there’s more! This box actually includes TWO books, so that you can keep on following the Lock & Mori story! Check out the sequel:

Book Summary on Amazon:

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

Sounds fun, huh? There’s even a signed bookplate from the author!

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

The material feels like normal paper, but I think this is such a nice gesture!

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

Sherlock Socks – Listed Value $9.99

These socks are so classy and comfy! I really like the gray and ivory color scheme, since it’ll go with a lot of different outfits. And how sweet are those little Sherlock items?

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

Smoked English Breakfast Black Tea by First Edition Tea Co. – Value $2.50

I love the idea of book-inspired tea! And I particularly love the utterly unique flavor of this smoked tea.

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

The smoky flavor really pops in the bag and transfers nicely into the tea itself. It offers something unexpected to a relatively typical cup of loose-leaf tea.

litcube-december-2016-ornament

#Bookish Ornament – Value $1.00?

This custom ornament is made from lightweight plastic and printed in indigo with this LitCube-inspired hashtag. It’s a cute idea, but for being custom-made, it doesn’t feel all that special. I wish it was a bit more high-quality, but I do appreciate the holiday treat!

Read our review of the December 2016 LitCube box!

221B Baker Street Keychain – Listed Value $5.99?

This looks like another custom item. It’s a simple black plastic fob printed with Sherlock’s address in white. I think the keychain idea is super cute, but I wish the design had more of the austere flair you associate with Sherlock Holmes.

Verdict: This LitCube box was very fun. I was really delighted by the Sherlock theme, especially since it coordinates with the launch of the new season of the hit TV show! The value of the box was about $44.00, which exceeds the $34.95 price of the box. Most of all, I really appreciated getting two books instead of just one in this box, even though some of the items were just a smidge underwhelming.

What do you think of the Sherlock theme of this LitCube box?

Written by Anna Reilly

Anna Reilly

Anna loves collecting little treasures, be they pop-culture finds, handmade mementos, or new potions to put in her makeup bag. Beauty boxes got her interested in the subscription world, but now she’s swooning for all things kawaii!

All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

4 Comments

  1. I was definitely disappointed in this box. I cancelled right after getting it. The ornament and keychain were a miss and I’d rather have a 2nd quality item or a different take on a book rather than a sequel to a book I may not like.

    It definitely felt more like a Lock and Mori box, rather than Sherlock.

    • Yep. I’m there with you. I was a long time subscriber, but I was leaning towards canceling after the beauty and the beast box.. This pushed me over that edge.

      I feel like quality and thoughtfulness has dropped substantially since I first subscribed. Everything has been really simple and a lot seems very cheaply made. The boxes just feel thrown together anymore.. Which sucks because it used to be my favorite sub.

      I don’t agree with any of the values on the listed items. That keychain would cost pennies to make with how basic it is; there’s no way the value is $6. I don’t know anyone who would pay $10 for those socks. I’d expect a lot higher quality for $10 socks..

    • Was anyone else kind of annoyed that the description of the second book seems to give away the ending of the first one? I read the flap of the books as I pulled them out of the box and was surprised that the sequel would spoil the first one like that, but I’m probably overly-sensitive to spoilers. I like to look at the items before I read the info card, though, so maybe that’s on me. Although, like I’ve said before on previous reviews, I’m not a fan of modern retellings of classics anyway, which we also got in the Beauty and the Beast box and the Jane Austen box. I agree with you, Jackie, I would have appreciated another book-related item instead of another YA book. Oh, well. You can’t please everyone, I guess.

  2. I liked getting both books. I am not a teenager but I found the books enjoyable. I loved the socks an the tea was delicious. I just received the Mother of All Dragons-January box and I am enjoying the book right now along with the snacks. I love how fun Peggy is with her subscription box!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.

Please do not enter your email address in the Name field or in the comment content!