Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Uppercase Reviews, YA Book Subscription Boxes | Tags: | 1 comment

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2016

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Uppercase-006

Uppercase is a YA book subscription box from Lisa Parkin. Each month Uppercase sends you a new YA book, a related accessory, and exclusive content from the author of the chosen book.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

Uppercase-018

The Subscription Box: Uppercase

The Cost: $29 (If you want them to pick a book based on your tastes the cost is $35 each month)

The Products: “When you sign up for Uppercase, every month you’ll receive:

  • 1 exciting new YA book
  • 1 book accessory (funky items like bookmarks, posters, jewelry, totes, etc)
  • A personal explanation of the choice + other similar titles
  • Discount codes for popular book buying websites
  • Exclusive content from the author of that month’s book”

Ships to: US and Canada (extra shipping costs for Canadian subscribers).

Ships via: USPS

Check out all my reviews of Uppercase and all my reviews of Book Subscription Boxes!

Uppercase-044

Each box includes a printed sheet detailing the items included, and a note from Lisa.

Uppercase-046

There is also a read along bookmark with codes for when you hit certain pages – and you’ll get questions, polls, videos, etc. that go along with the book.

OwlCrate-019

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab – Retail Value $17.99 (On Amazon for $10.36)

Book Summary from Amazon:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

This book was in my Amazon cart, and I’m so glad I didn’t purchase it! I absolutely love Victoria Schwab (I highly recommend A Darker Shade of Magic) and I can’t wait to read this book!

This book also came with a promotion pin:

Uppercase-030

 

 

And every Uppercase box book is signed by the author:

IMG_3469

 

Uppercase-033

Custom Stamped Book Lover Pencil Set – Value $8?

Uppercase-008

This is an Uppercase Box exclusive and I love it! Though, I must admit my future goals include a phrase that is more like “Read more, sleep more.”

Uppercase-036

Vintage Sticky Notes Set – Value $11

Uppercase-040

This vintage inspired post-it note set is so cute! Perfect for book notes, book marks, etc.!

Uppercase-042

Verdict: This box has a value of about $30. I’m estimating on the pencils, and the book is signed, so that may make the value higher to many people. I’m almost always happy with this subscription. I think the curation is great, and it seems like my taste in YA books is similar to Lisa’s so that works out very well!

Plus this is one of the best-reviewed YA books I’ve seen released this year!

What do you think of this month’s Uppercase box?

OWLCRATE July 2016 SPOILER ALERT:

Please read this post in it's entirety to understand our updated policy regarding subscribers receiving duplicate books as a result of subscribing to other book subscription boxes. We'd love to hear your feedback so that we can do the right thing and do what we're able to make all of our subscribers happy! We choose the very best book for you each month and it would diminish the quality of our book choices if we were to coordinate with any other book subscription box. For this reason there is always a chance for duplicate books when you are subscribed to more than one book subscription box. One of the unique benefits of being an Uppercase subscriber is that your book is always signed by the author. We hope that you agree that this adds value to your book and your Uppercase subscription. Even with this added benefit that other book subscription boxes do not provide, we understand that it's disappointing and frustrating to get duplicate books. Last month, we went out of our way to send our subscribers a bonus item if they emailed us with confirmation that they had received a duplicate book from another book subscription box. Starting today we are happy to announce that we will go even further by providing you with a 50% refund for the cost of the book based on the Amazon.com list price. Since we cannot control or prevent duplicates from happening, a 50% refund for the cost of the book is our part to help compensate you for the unfortunate circumstance. If you'd like a refund for the remaining 50% of the cost of the book, feel free to reach out to the other book subscription box to see if they will do the same. This will allow you to receive a full 100% refund for the cost of your second copy of the book while still keeping your signed copy of the book from Uppercase. Please email us at support@uppercasebox.com to redeem your choice of a bonus item OR a 50% partial refund of the Amazon list price of the book. Each of you who subscribe to Uppercase are incredibly valuable to us and we sincerely appreciate your business.

A photo posted by Uppercase (@uppercasebox) on

FYI – Owl Crate and Uppercase Box are offering subscribers who subscribed to both boxes a refund in the amount of half the cost of the Amazon price of this book.

I totally understand that both of these book subscription boxes secure their books many months in advance, so there was nothing they could do about 2 months back-to-back of identical books, and I think this is really an impressive offering.

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

1 Comment

  1. My daughter (12) and I love the box! She is thrilled that the book is signed. We are rading the book together, 1 chapter per night. She loves the sticky notes and pencils. Thank you Lisa!

    Also-I love the new duplicate book policy. Way to go Uppercase & Owlcrate. I had considered signing my daughter up for Owlcrate, but they Uppercase is less expensive with signed books. We wouldn’t have signed up for both before this new policy change, and now we are seriously considering it! If we get duplicate books, we will get the value of the book back, and we can give it to my daughter’s English teacher. Win-WIn!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.