Posted by on in Australian Subscription Box Reviews, Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, OwlCrate Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, UK Subscription Box Reviews, YA Book Subscription Boxes | Tags: | 13 comments

OwlCrate Book Subscription Box Review + Coupon – July 2016

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

OwlCrate-008

OwlCrate is a YA book subscription box. Each month they send you a newly released YA book with some bookish goodies.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

OwlCrate-064

The Subscription Box: OwlCrate

The Cost: $29.99 plus shipping ($6.99 to US, $10.59 to Canada, $19.99 Worldwide)

COUPON: Use coupon code LOVELY10 to save 10%!

The Products: A new YA book and 3-5 book-related goodies.

Ships to: Worldwide!

Check out all of my OwlCrate reviews and all of our Book Subscription Box reviews!

OwlCrate-033

Each box comes with a card detailing the items included. This month’s theme is Good vs Evil! Everyone gets the same box, but your items are either good or evil themed. I love this idea!

OwlCrate-020

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab – Retail Value $17.99 (On Amazon for $10.36)

Book Summary from Amazon:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

This book was in my Amazon cart, and I’m so glad I didn’t purchase it! I absolutely love Victoria Schwab (I highly recommend A Darker Shade of Magic) and I can’t wait to read this book!

This book came with a letter from the author and a signed bookplate sticker:

OwlCrate-021

Now, on to my “evil” items!

OwlCrate-011

Draco Malfoy Funko POP – Retail Value $10

(Evil boxes received Draco or a Dementor, Good boxes received Dobby or Luna Lovegood)

Yes to all things Harry Potter! (I really wanted to get Dobby in this box, but any Harry Potter POP is a good POP!)

OwlCrate-012

(If Owl Crate included a POP in every box, that would be OK with me!)

OwlCrate-013

My husband, Eric, has already claimed this for his collection!

OwlCrate-044

Vector Engraving Death Star Wooden Necklace – Value $16

(Evil boxes received the Death Star, Good boxes received the Millennium Falcon)

OwlCrate-048

The detail on this pendant necklace is really impressive. And what a perfect addition for a good vs evil box!

OwlCrate-025

Jane’s Tiny Things Magnetic Bookmark – Value $2

(Evil boxes received the Queen of Hearts, Good boxes received Alice.)

I can never get enough magnetic bookmarks! They are so cute! (Even the evil ones!)

OwlCrate-032

OwlCrate-024

Drop and Give Me Nerdy Am I Not Merciful Sticker – Value $2?

This was made exclusively for the box. It’s a quote from Illuminae (which is currently in my TBR pile). So, since I haven’t read it yet, my first thought was that Owl Crate was quoting Joaquin Phoenix in Gladiator!

gladiator-thumbs-down

And Owl Crate usually includes extra paper bookish goodies each month, too:

OwlCrate-034

A promotional bookmark for Every Hidden Thing.

And an 8-page YA book cover coloring book:

OwlCrate-022

OwlCrate-023

Verdict: This box has a value of about $41 (using the Amazon sale prices and my estimates of some of these exclusive items). I think that’s a good value for a book box, especially with the curation and bonus book extras that OwlCrate includes each month. (Plus I just LOVED how awesome the theme was this month – bonus points for OwlCrate!)

What do you think of the July OwlCrate box? Was your box good or evil?

Uppercase July 2016 Box Spoiler Alert:

Hi everyone. We've been receiving a lot of emails and comments about the fact that OwlCrate and Uppercase featured the same book for two consecutive months. We want you to know that your feedback is incredibly important to us and for those of you who received duplicate books, we understand your disappointment. The reality of this situation is that here at OwlCrate we plan our boxes 6+ months in advance of shipping. This includes selecting the book, choosing the theme, and finding the wonderful small businesses to work with on that box (some of whom require many months to create their product). Given the fact that we finalize our book pick early on (and set all the other wheels in motion) – if it later becomes apparent that another book box has selected the same book as us, this is something that is completely out of our control. There is no foul play or copying going on. With every box aiming to send out the best books being published, it is likely that if there is a highly anticipated title coming out, more than one box may pick it as their featured book. We reached out to the owner of Uppercase, because we wanted to find a solution that worked for everyone involved. We are both willing to give subscribers who receive duplicate books a 50% refund off the Amazon price of the book. When we both give this refund, these subscribers will essentially have received one of the books for free! If you would like to claim this refund for duplicates that were sent out in June and July, please email support@owlcrate.com with a photograph of the contents of BOTH boxes (OwlCrate and Uppercase) in the same photo, side by side. If you have sent emails to us about this prior to this announcement, please write in again so we can give you your refund. Photos will be required to claim refunds if this happens again in the future as well. We are so incredibly grateful for all of your support. It means a lot to us that you subscribe to OwlCrate. We want to thank everyone for their positive words, feedback and ideas. From the bottom of our hearts, thank you! ❤️

A photo posted by OwlCrate (@owlcrate) on

FYI – Owl Crate and Uppercase Box are offering subscribers who subscribed to both boxes a refund in the amount of half the cost of the Amazon price of this book.

I totally understand that both of these book subscription boxes secure their books many months in advance, so there was nothing they could do about 2 months back-to-back of identical books, and I think this is really an impressive offering.

 

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

13 Comments

  1. Loved this box as well. I got #TeamEvil. Loved your thoughts on the quote “Am I not merciful?” I thought the same thing.

    • So glad I’m not the only one who thought that! 🙂

  2. My daughter loved this box…sadly ours was missing the coloring book, but she doesn’t know it’s missing, so we’re good. ?

    • Mine was missing it too.

  3. Does anyone have a photo of their June boxes side by side in one photo for the refund…I subscribe to both but would never take a photo with both boxes complete side by side.

    • I bet if you tell them you don’t have pictures, but can send them payment receipts for the month they will consider that fine as well. I can’t imagine they wouldn’t be willing to work with you.

      • I imagine that they want the side by side photos of each products in order to verify that you are the one that received the entire box.

  4. That is an awesome policy! Yay for Owl Crate and Uppercase!! I am currently subscribed to Uppercase, and the biggest reason I haven’t added Owl Crate, as well, is the likelihood that some months would be duplicates!

    BTW-I am reading Savage Song with my 12-year-old, because it is a little too grown up for her to read without context from a parent. It has been fun reading a chapter with her every night!

  5. I received the Good box with the Luna Pop, which is what I was hoping for! Very happy with this subscription!

    • Yay! Glad you got the POP you wanted!! 🙂

  6. I was hoping for dementer but I got the good box. Oddly enough though, I received the necklace for the evil box instead of the necklace for the good box.

  7. OwlCrate has to be one of the most impressive subscription businesses right now and I’m not even a fan of the genre. The curation, value, and customer service are outstanding!

    • I agree!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.