Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, Uppercase Reviews, YA Book Subscription Boxes | Tags: | 8 comments

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – April 2016

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.


Uppercase is a YA book subscription box from Lisa Parkin. Each month Uppercase sends you a new YA book, a related accessory, and exclusive content from the author of the chosen book.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).


The Subscription Box: Uppercase

The Cost: $29 (If you want them to pick a book based on your tastes the cost is $35 each month)

The Products: “When you sign up for Uppercase, every month you’ll receive:

  • 1 exciting new YA book
  • 1 book accessory (funky items like bookmarks, posters, jewelry, totes, etc)
  • A personal explanation of the choice + other similar titles
  • Discount codes for popular book buying websites
  • Exclusive content from the author of that month’s book”

Ships to: US and Canada (extra shipping costs for Canadian subscribers).

Ships via: USPS

Check out all my reviews of Uppercase and all my reviews of Book Subscription Boxes!


Each box includes a printed sheet detailing the items included, and a note from Lisa. There is also a read along bookmark with codes for when you hit certain pages – and you’ll get questions, polls, videos, etc. that go along with the book.


Scarlet Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw – Retail Value $17.99 (On Amazon for $11.99)

Book Summary from Amazon:

Cross Veronica Mars with MTV’s Daria, and you’ll get Scarlett Epstein, the snarky, judgmental, and often hilarious star of Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here, a witty and heartwarming novel that’s perfect for fans of David Arnold’s Mosquitoland and Kody Keplinger’s The Duff. 
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online community of fanfiction writers, world-class nobody at Melville High. Her best (read: only) IRL friends are Avery, a painfully shy and annoyingly attractive bookworm, and Ruth, her pot-smoking, possibly insane seventy-three-year-old neighbor.

When Scarlett’s beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren’t the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series—they’re the real-life kids from her high school. Scarlett never considers what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks about them…until a dramatic series of events exposes a very different reality than Scarlett’s stories, forever transforming her approach to relationships—both online and off.

Book summary, you had me at “Veronica Mars.” I also had this book on my wishlist since I saw Lisa’s review of this book had “laugh out loud funny” in the title!


And the book is signed! It came with fun stickers, too:



The Book Of Potions Notebook – Value $6

I love that there is a Harry Potter theme this month! It extends to these exclusive bookmarks, too:


BeeDoo Harry Potter Bookmarks – Value $4

I’ve become a little obsessed with these style of bookmarks since discovering them in subscription boxes. Here is the back:


I’m happy to add Hagrid and Buckbeak to my collection!


Harry Potter Quote Mini Poster by Risa Rodil – Value $8?

This is an exclusive design, so I’m guessing on the value. I love the poster, but I wish it had arrived rolled instead of folded across the center. Not a big deal, though!


And as a bonus, there was also a I Read YA pin for #IreadYA week!


Verdict: This box has a value of about $30. I’m estimating on the poster, and the book is signed, so that may make the value higher to many people. I’m almost always happy with this subscription. I think the curation is great, and it seems like my taste in YA books is similar to Lisa’s so that works out very well!

What do you think of this month’s Uppercase box?

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.


  1. My notebook was different, it was titled “The Book of Magical Thinking”…

  2. That book looks so good! Brb adding it to my wishlist for future reference!

  3. ????? I am so sad I missed out on all that Harry Potter stuff! Especially that notebook ??? Does anyone know what makes them and where I can get one? Or was this an exclusive Uppercase item??

    • The link for the notebook goes to the etsy shop that sells it. Hope that helps! 🙂

      • Oh, yay! Thank you

      • Random question (in the vein of book YA book subscription). Liz, did you ever do a review of the April Owlcrate box?

  4. I bought my sister a subscription as well so when she gets back from work (she works out of town two weeks out of the month) we’re gonna read it at the same time. I’m so excited and I’m waiting on pins and needles for her to come back!

  5. Just finished the book and it was so so amazing, as always! Excellent curation I think me and Lisa have the same book tastes as well, haha

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.