Posted by on in Book of the Month News, Subscription Box News | Tags: | 12 comments

Book of the Month Selection Time for January + Coupon!

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.24.40 PM

The January selections for Book of the Month have been released! Subscribers can now pick out their book for January:

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.35.03 PM

Bohemian Gospel by Dana Chamblee Carpenter – Retail Value $25.95 (On Amazon for $20.28)

Set against the historical reign of the Golden and Iron King, Bohemian Gospel is the remarkable tale of a bold and unusual girl on a quest to uncover her past and define her destiny.

Thirteenth-century Bohemia is a dangerous place for a girl, especially one as odd as Mouse, born with unnatural senses and an uncanny intellect. Some call her a witch. Others call her an angel. Even Mouse doesn’t know who―or what―she is. But she means to find out.

When young King Ottakar shows up at the Abbey wounded by a traitor’s arrow, Mouse breaks church law to save him and then agrees to accompany him back to Prague as his personal healer. Caught in the undertow of court politics at the castle, Ottakar and Mouse find themselves drawn to each other as they work to uncover the threat against him and to unravel the mystery of her past. But when Mouse’s unusual gifts give rise to a violence and strength that surprise everyone―especially herself―she is forced to ask herself: Will she be prepared for the future that awaits her?

A heart-thumping, highly original tale in the vein of Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian, Bohemian Gospel heralds the arrival of a fresh new voice for historical fiction.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.35.10 PM

Ghettoside: A True Story of Murder in America by Jill Leovy – Retail Value $28 (On Amazon for $17.62)

On a warm spring evening in South Los Angeles, a young man is shot and killed on a sidewalk minutes away from his home, one of the thousands of black Americans murdered that year. His assailant runs down the street, jumps into an SUV, and vanishes, hoping to join the scores of killers in American cities who are never arrested for their crimes.

But as soon as the case is assigned to Detective John Skaggs, the odds shift.

Here is the kaleidoscopic story of the quintessential, but mostly ignored, American murder—a “ghettoside” killing, one young black man slaying another—and a brilliant and driven cadre of detectives whose creed is to pursue justice for forgotten victims at all costs. Ghettoside is a fast-paced narrative of a devastating crime, an intimate portrait of detectives and a community bonded in tragedy, and a surprising new lens into the great subject of why murder happens in our cities—and how the epidemic of killings might yet be stopped.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.35.16 PM

My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout – Retail Value $26 (On Amazon for $17.77)

A new book by Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout is cause for celebration. Her bestselling novels, including Olive Kitteridge and The Burgess Boys, have illuminated our most tender relationships. Now, in My Name Is Lucy Barton, this extraordinary writer shows how a simple hospital visit becomes a portal to the most tender relationship of all—the one between mother and daughter.

Lucy Barton is recovering slowly from what should have been a simple operation. Her mother, to whom she hasn’t spoken for many years, comes to see her. Gentle gossip about people from Lucy’s childhood in Amgash, Illinois, seems to reconnect them, but just below the surface lie the tension and longing that have informed every aspect of Lucy’s life: her escape from her troubled family, her desire to become a writer, her marriage, her love for her two daughters. Knitting this powerful narrative together is the brilliant storytelling voice of Lucy herself: keenly observant, deeply human, and truly unforgettable.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.35.27 PM

The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner – Retail Value $27.99 (On Amazon for $18.91)

RUTH WARINER was the thirty-ninth of her father’s forty-two children. Growing up on a farm in rural Mexico, where authorities turn a blind eye to the practices of her community, Ruth lives in a ramshackle house without indoor plumbing or electricity. At church, preachers teach that God will punish the wicked by destroying the world and that women can only ascend to Heaven by entering into polygamous marriages and giving birth to as many children as possible. After Ruth’s father―the man who had been the founding prophet of the colony―is brutally murdered by his brother in a bid for church power, her mother remarries, becoming the second wife of another faithful congregant.

In need of government assistance and supplemental income, Ruth and her siblings are carted back and forth between Mexico and the United States, where Ruth’s mother collects welfare and her stepfather works a variety of odd jobs. Ruth comes to love the time she spends in the States, realizing that perhaps the community into which she was born is not the right one for her. As she begins to doubt her family’s beliefs and question her mother’s choices, she struggles to balance her fierce love for her siblings with her determination to forge a better life for herself.

Recounted from the innocent and hopeful perspective of a child, The Sound of Gravel is the remarkable memoir of one girl’s fight for peace and love. This is an intimate, gripping tale of triumph, courage, and resilience.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.35.36 PM

The Verdict by Nick Stone – Retail Value $25.95 (On Amazon for $20.85)

When Terry Flynt gets the chance to defend a millionaire accused of murder he knows that the case could make his career, but the accused man is Flynt’s greatest enemy―can he defend a man who ruined his life?

Terry Flynt is a struggling legal clerk, desperately trying to get promoted. And then he is given the biggest opportunity of his career: to help defend a millionaire accused of murdering a woman in his hotel suite.

The only problem is that the accused man, Vernon James, turns out to be not only someone he knows, but someone he loathes. This case could potentially make Terry’s career, but how can he defend a former friend who betrayed him so badly?

With the trial date looming, Terry delves deeper into Vernon’s life and is forced to confront secrets from their shared past that could have devastating consequences for them both. For years he has wanted to witness Vernon’s downfall, but with so much at stake, how can Terry be sure that he is guilty? And what choices must he make to ensure that justice is done?

Which book are you picking this month? I think I may be getting an add-on or two this month! (You can add any additional books to your box for $9.99 each – still cheaper than Amazon!)

If you haven’t signed up for Book of the Month yet, use invite code BOOK15 to get a 3-month subscription for only $26.97 ($8.99 a box!). You have until the 6th to sign up and start with the January box.

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

12 Comments

  1. I have gone back and forth on which to choose. I thought I was set with the Sound of Gravel. But the more I read the description of Bohemian Gospel, the more it appealed to me. So I added both. And I already had my eye on Head Case from a previous month. I guess I’m doing 2 add ons this month! I love this subscription more than any of the others I have!
    I even thought I may find these books for a better price on Amazon, but not even close! $10 is such a good deal on a hardcover book.

  2. This was tough for me too- I really want to read Ghettoside, The Bohemian Gospel and The Verdict, and would probably also really like The Sound of Gravel. I ended up choosing Ghettoside because I really loved Random Family, which David Sedaris referenced in his review. And since my birthay is this month I added The Bohemian Gospel because it’s not like anything I have in my home library.

  3. I can’t decide! I’d take 4/5 this month! I may add on a book for the first time. I always enjoy the books David Sedaris recommends on his tours so I want Ghettoside. I love historical fiction, so I want to read Bohemian Gospel. I love thrillers so I want The Verdict. AND a memoir about growing up in a cult sounds interesting. The only one I’m ready to eliminate is My Name is Lucy Barton. It just isn’t grabbing my attention.

  4. The website was lagging for a bit, but it managed to get in with no problem. I chose My Name is Lucy Barton as my selection. I actually saw a review of it in Oprah’s magazine and it looks really good! It’s a bargain to get an add-on so I chose Ghettoside as my 2nd selection. It also looks really good and I can’t help but pick something from the fabulous David Sedaris.

  5. Ugh. I called at the beginning of the week to cancel my subscription, because I just can’t keep up with my backlog of books at the moment. Was told it was canceled and would not renew. It just renewed. Hopefully they will sort it out quickly and credit back my card, but it’s frustrating having to deal with the extra hassle.

    • I emailed them and they told me I wouldn’t be charged any longer, and I just got charged too. It bothers me that they save credit card information. I asked them to refund me and then delete my information, so we see what happens.

      • Have you gotten a reply yet? I got a response apologizing and saying they will refund but my subscription still says it will expire in March so I emailed a third time. :/

    • The same thing happened to me. :/

  6. Yeah I was gonna choose add-ons. They seem to be swamped at the moment I am guessing.

  7. Am I the only having trouble with their site? I have spent an hour and a half trying to make my selections. I’m giving up and trying again tomorrow. I am torn between Ghettoside and Bohemian Gospel.

    • I can’t get on either. Hopefully the website problems are fixed by morning!

  8. I hear Ghetoside is amazing. Alas, my husband already ordered it.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.