Posted by on in Book People Signed First Club Reviews, Book Subscription Boxes, Subscription Box Reviews | Tags: | 15 comments

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Box

Thanks to the wonderful suggestions from My Subscription Addiction readers, I have become obsessed with book subscription boxes! Trust Fall is a relatively new subscription box from Book People. Every quarter they send you a signed, first edition copy of a debut or break out book, plus a few extra items.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Items

The Subscription Box: Trust Fall (ships once a quarter)

The Cost: $39.95 per quarter (or $35 a quarter if you pay the $140 annual cost up front).

The Products: “We’ll send you four debut or break-out books throughout the year that we absolutely do not want you to miss. You’ll also receive a couple of extra goodies in your surprise package as a thank you for taking a chance with us. If you don’t like the book, you can return it for a full refund and keep the extra gifts.”

Check out all of my Trust Fall reviews!

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Letter

The box comes with a letter detailing the items included and a little background on the book selected.

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Info

This box also came with a Q&A card with author Erika Swyler.

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Book

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler – Retail Value $26.99 (On Amazon for $16.19)

Book Summary from Amazon:

Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival.

One June day, an old book arrives on Simon’s doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of “mermaids” in Simon’s family have drowned–always on July 24, which is only weeks away.

As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon’s family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola?

In the tradition of Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian, The Book of Speculation–with two-color illustrations by the author–is Erika Swyler’s moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.

This is a signed copy, so while I’m including the value of the hardcover book, I don’t think it covers the whole value for some. Here is the signature page:

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Signature

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Cards

The Book of Speculation Tarot Cards – bonus item from the publisher

The rest of the bookish goodies this month go with the tarot card inspiration from the book. (I’m guessing – I haven’t read it yet!)

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Pencils

Double Sided Colored Pencils – Value $10

These colored pencils go with the other main item in the box:

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Tarot

Tarot Designs Coloring Book – Value $4

Here is a look inside:

Book People Trust Fall Subscription Box Review – August 2015 Pages

Verdict: I’m excited to read the featured book this month, but I must admit – I’m a little disappointed that there weren’t two books in this box. (The past two boxes I’ve received from Book People Trust Fall each included a bonus book in addition to the signed first edition). I think this box is well-themed, but I would have preferred the other items to be general bookish goodies and/or another book.

What do you think of the latest Book People Trust Fall box?

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

15 Comments

  1. I guess they got too many orders, I just got notice my order was cancelled for this months order. Is there anyone looking to sell their box?

    Thank you

  2. This book is wonderful. I’ve read it and I think it will have a universal appeal. One thing that’s not mentioned in the cost listed is that they charge shipping. When I was considering getting this box there was a pretty hefty shipping charge included on top of this amount.

  3. This book sounds awesome! I just placed a hold on it at my local library. It seems to be very popular right now–the wait list is long!–so I’m looking extra forward to reading it. 🙂

  4. As usual, I’m delighted with my Trust Fall box. I would never had purchased a coloring book for myself, but I’m enjoying it and I’m really excited to read the book!

  5. Great theme! The book sounds so intriguing! I’m surprised The Museum of Extraordinary Things wasn’t mentioned as a similar book in the review…I highly recommend it, and it seems like it’s in a similar vein as this story!

  6. This is my favorite Trust Fall box so far (I’ve been with them since the beginning). I’m intrigued by the book and love the coloring book and pencils bonus. Great book box!

  7. If anyone wants to sell or trade their complete box, PLEASE email me or look me up on the swapping site!! My email is dimplesg520(at)yahoo(dot)com!

    • I just checked the site, they have the box available for sale.

  8. I’m not interested in any of the extras, but if someone would like to swap for the book I’d be thrilled!

    • I’d love them!!

  9. Oh wow.. I wonder if they have any of this box still available… I want it!!

  10. For me this box fell extremely short. The spoilers they originally released for this box said there would be two books. I personally don’t see a coloring book as a second book. In addition it was sent almost a full month after it was supposed to be shipped. I had to reach out to them to find out when it would be coming. The other boxes I have subscribed to have at least had the decency to keep customers appraised of shipping problems or errors. I really really wanted to like this box but the misleading spoilers and lack of customer service means I will most likely never order it again.

    • If you don’t like it, I’d certainly be willing to swap for it!

  11. This is my first Trust Fall and I really loved the extras. I thought it was so creative. Granted I would have loved a second book but the coloring book is something I’ll enjoy but probably wouldn’t have bought for myself. I do hope in the future they reintroduce the second book and maybe even some advanced copies. I love those. This is a probably at $30 box in my mind but I’ll still enjoy it.

  12. That book sounds interesting to me. I will have to check it out!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.