Posted by on in Australian Subscription Box Reviews, Book Subscription Boxes, Canadian Subscription Box Reviews, OwlCrate Reviews, Subscription Box Reviews, UK Subscription Box Reviews | 8 comments

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Box

OwlCrate is a relatively new book subscription box. Each month they send you a newly released YA book with some bookish goodies.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Items

The Subscription Box: OwlCrate

The Cost: $29.99 plus shipping ($6.99 to US, $10.59 to Canada, $19.99 Worldwide)

The Products: A new YA book and 3-5 book-related goodies.

Ships to: Worldwide!

Check out all of my OwlCrate reviews!

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Info

Each box comes with a card detailing the items included. This month’s theme is Friendship!

(There’s also a bookmark included detailing a contest to win a 3-month subscription).

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Book

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi – Retail Value $17.99 (On Amazon for $13.76)

Also included with the book: a bookmark and signed bookplate!

Book Summary from Amazon:

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti! What happens when Matt and Ella reunite one year after their breakup? Are second chances really possible?

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over her ex-boyfriend and graduate high school—simple as that. But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player—was never part of that plan. And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

But then Matt leaves town, breaking Ella’s heart. And when he shows up a year later—wanting to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Owls

Observant Owls Book Buddies – Value $6

I subscribe to a few different book and bookish boxes, and I think Owl Crate is winning when it comes to adorable bookish accessory items. These will be good for the tiniest of notes!

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Bracelet

Showpony Until the Very End Bracelet – Value $13

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 H Pott

Even though I don’t usually wear silver jewelry, this bracelet makes me happy! (Pretty much any Harry Potter item inclusion in a box will make me happy though!)

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Super

Super Awesome Postcards – Retail Value $10 (On Amazon for $8)

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Awesome

This fold-out set includes 30 super awesome postcards featuring things like…

OwlCrate YA Book Subscription Box Review – July 2015 Postcards

Black Holes! (Other super awesome postcard subjects: Big Foot, Wizards, Bacon, etc.

Verdict: This box has a value of about $41 (using Amazon discounted pricing). I think that’s a great value for a book subscription box, and I really have been enjoying my Owl Crate subscription so far! Looking at the reviews for The Night We Said Yes, I’m not sure if it will be a book for me, but I’m going to give it a try.

What do you think of the July Owl Crate box?

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.


  1. This is the first Owl Crate I received and I am enjoying it so far – while I’m not a fan of the book plate/note items (just would not use them), I think the other items are of some use. I like learning of new books and while I tend to borrow from the library, I can put the item up for swap or sale after I’m done, or even donate it. I don’t know if Owl Crate has a community to review the books they send out on their website – right now, I will stick with goodreads.

    I love the HP inspired bracelet!!

  2. It’s nice to see a book included in a book sub that isn’t from the sci-fi or fantasy genre. I don’t know many teen girls who are into either, my own girls included. Actually, my boys don’t care for them either now that I think about it. My oldest (15) will love this book. Can’t wait for the box to arrive!

    • I have actually been looking for a sub box the past few months that do include sci-fi or fantasy novels, but haven’t managed to find any. If you have any you’d like to share, I’d be grateful.

    • Wow, those are the genres I was MOST interested in at that age, and is what my 2 daughters and 1 son enjoy most too.

  3. Since it is a young adult book sub, a teen romance book isn’t exactly surprising or inappropriate. It would appeal to most girls in the target audience, i.e., young adults/teens. My 14 year old daughter would love the book and all of the extras. Then again, she is 14.

  4. I would not pay $37 for everything here, especially since the book itself sounds trite, but the bookish extras are fabulous!! I wish they–or Book Riot–had a reasonably-priced box called Bookish Extras. I have no problem finding new awesome books on my own and don’t want to leave my reading commitment choices in someone else’s hands, but I love all the other goodies.

    • Appraising Pages has a sub box called The Bookish Box filled with bookish items if you want to check them out.

      • Thanks so much! I put myself on the waitlist for September’s box!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.