Posted by on in Book Subscription Boxes, Subscription Box Reviews, Uppercase Reviews | 5 comments

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Package

Uppercase is a YA book subscription box from Lisa Parkin. Each month Uppercase sends you a new YA book, a related accessory, and exclusive content from the author of the chosen book. I love a good YA book, so I wanted to try this subscription out!

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Items

The Subscription Box: Uppercase

The Cost: $29 (If you want them to pick a book based on your tastes the cost is $35 each month)

The Products: “When you sign up for Uppercase, every month you’ll receive:

  • 1 exciting new YA book
  • 1 book accessory (funky items like bookmarks, posters, jewelry, totes, etc)
  • A personal explanation of the choice + other similar titles
  • Discount codes for popular book buying websites
  • Exclusive content from the author of that month’s book”

Ships to: US and Canada (extra shipping costs for Canadian subscribers).

Check out all my reviews of Uppercase!

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Letter

Each box includes a printed sheet detailing the items included, and a hand-written note from Lisa.

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 The Girl at Midnight

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey – Retail Value $17.99 (On Amazon for $12.91)

I always include the Amazon prices for book subscription box reviews, but this is another instance where it’s not an entirely fair number to use, since this is a signed book:

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Signed

Another new update to the subscription is the addition of post-it notes throughout the book. As you’re reading through, you can enter the codes on the post-its on the Uppercase site for additional content to go along with the book.

The book summary from Amazon:

For fans of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.
Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.
Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.
Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.
But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Wicked

Wicked is Good Scorch Trials Sticker

The Girl at Midnight Art Print by Risa Rodil – Value?

The sticker isn’t listed on the letter, so I’m assuming it’s a bonus item.

Uppercase included an Art Print last month too and I think it is a great addition to the box.

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Notebook

Bookworm Pocket Journal – Value $9

I don’t usually get too excited about notebooks in subscription boxes. But this one is just too cute. Look at the pages:

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Pages

Uppercase YA Book Subscription Box Review – May 2015 Pages 2

Verdict: I really love this subscription! The signed book and other exclusives add a value to this box so it’s not merely comparing it with Amazon prices, and the extras are fun too. Plus I really appreciate Lisa’s curation – I’ve enjoyed every book she’s selected so far, and I had The Girl at Midnight on my wishlist based on her review!

What do you think of Uppercase Box?

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

5 Comments

  1. Book subs make up a big percentage of the boxes that I receive. I love almost all genres, and I like YA.

    With that being said, I’m not too sure about this sub.. It feels like it’s missing something special, and for $29, I’d expect the curation to not be… I don’t know? I just feel like this one isn’t worth the money

    • I agree. Book boxes are all really expensive and it’s hard to justify the price when you can get it and the bookish items for good prices by itself. It’s really more for the experience of getting a surprise book and goodies in the mail, for me at least. Of all the book options, I feel like Uppercase is the best bang for your buck, with Owlcrate coming in second. I like UC for the stellar rep of books I actually like/wanna read and OC for the amount of cool bookish goodies they put in each box. I’ve researched so many others and they just don’t seem worth it to me.

  2. I would be interested if they had one for my 10-year old. The content in YA isn’t quite right for her yet, but she would love this. Maybe in another year or two.

  3. Everything looks cool, but as a huge fan of the Maze Runner trilogy, I want the sticker to correctly say “WCKD is good.” Otherwise, it sounds as if it’s about that Broadway show… 😉

    I am interested in the book, though, and may check it out on my Kindle first to see if I want to swap for it.

    • I noticed that WCKD was spelled wrong too. Its very odd.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.