Posted by on in Book People Signed First Club Reviews, Book Subscription Boxes, Subscription Box Reviews | 4 comments

Book People Signed First Club Subscription – April 2015

This post may contain referral/affiliate links. Read the full disclosure.

Book People Signed First Club Subscription – April 2015 Package

Book subscription boxes have become one of my new favorite box genres, and I have been signing up for every one of them I can find! The Signed First Club subscription from Book People is just what it sounds like – every month they send you a first edition signed book.

My Subscription Addiction pays for this subscription. (Check out the review process post to learn more about how we review boxes).

Book People Signed First Club Subscription – April 2015 Open

The Subscription: Signed First Club

The Cost: $35 a month (you have to pay $210 up front for a 6-month subscription)

The Products: “You’ll receive one signed first edition hardcover book each month, handpicked by BookPeople’s discerning Signed First team. We’ll also include a protective Brodart book cover to preserve the value of your book.”

Check out all of my Signed First Club reviews!

Book People Signed First Club Subscription – April 2015 Book

Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum – Retail Value $26 (On Amazon for $15.60)

(The plastic book cover is removable).

Book synopsis from Amazon:

Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairscomes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning—“a modern-day Anna Karenina tale.”*

Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno—a banker—and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.

But Anna can’t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it’s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.

Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum’s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.

And here is the signature page:

Book People Signed First Club Subscription – April 2015 Page

Verdict: I said it in the last review, and I’ll say it again: I think it’s important to call out that the value in this subscription is the curation from Book People, and getting a signed copy of a first edition box. If that’s valuable to you, I think you’ll enjoy this subscription – if it isn’t, then I wouldn’t recommend this box.

I’m curious about this book. It has mixed reviews on Amazon – some love it and some hate it. I’m not sure which camp I’ll fall into, but it’s only about 300 pages, so I’ll find out soon. (I also just love the cover!)

What do you think of the Signed First Club? Is getting a signed copy of a book valuable to you?

Written by Liz Cadman

Liz Cadman

Liz is the founder of My Subscription Addiction. She’s been hooked on subscription boxes since 2011 thanks to Birchbox, and she now subscribes to over 100 boxes. Her favorites include POPSUGAR Must Have, FabFitFun, and any box that features natural beauty products!
All views in this review are the opinion of the author. My Subscription Addiction will never accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain affiliate/referral links. Read the complete My Subscription Addiction disclosure.

4 Comments

  1. Yes I started a Facebook group for Indiespensable subscribers. Only had 2 ppl join so far. Called Indiespensable book discussion.

  2. I’m going to buy this book, sounds very interesting.

  3. This sounds interesting. I love the cover.

  4. So, how about an MSA book club so we can discuss the books from subs? Would there be interest in that?

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments may not appear immediately. More info here.